We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesesteaks are the best”

Hwy 55 Burgers Shakes & Fries
Ranked #50 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Description: Craving fresh-never-frozen-burgers, premium sliced cheesesteaks piled high on steamed hoagies, and creamy frozen custard made in-house, right in front of you? You're in the right spot. Hwy 55 Burgers, Shakes & Fries has brought a fresh, All-American diner experience since its start in 1991. With its open-grill design, the kitchen's dedication and care when hand-crafting meals is front and center. So come join us at Hwy 55 in Murrells Inlet! We're excited to see you.
Restaurant details
Description: Craving fresh-never-frozen-burgers, premium sliced cheesesteaks piled high on steamed hoagies, and creamy frozen custard made in-house, right in front of you? You're in the right spot. Hwy 55 Burgers, Shakes & Fries has brought a fresh, All-American diner experience since its start in 1991. With its open-grill design, the kitchen's dedication and care when hand-crafting meals is front and center. So come join us at Hwy 55 in Murrells Inlet! We're excited to see you.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheesesteaks are the best”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A guest and I come here specifically for the cheesesteaks because we think they are the best at any restaurant. They could definitely be a little bigger for the price but it is still worth it. We have not really gotten much beyond the cheesesteaks though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    11
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,002 reviews
766 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Another good experience...”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Cool Retro-50's diner. Neon, old B&W pics of Marilyn Monroe and Elvis. Friendly waitstaff (Abby) was our waitress. Burgers are well done and juicy. Go for the works on toppings.. the chili-slaw does it for me.

Custard is the chief ingredient in the shakes and soft-serve ice-cream.

Three of us ate for under $30. initial review 7/2013.

===============

Update 5/2014:

Give it another 4.5 stars for the cheerful service. Folks in there are super nice, food is average TAD American fare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great 50's Style Burger place ! decorated as it was in the 50's”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a great find !! Burgers , onion rings, fries and the best milk shake I have had in dozens of years. I have been twice in the past week and enjoyed everything. The decor was spectacular, the food delicious,the staff friendly. I noticed the young kids hamburgers and fries were served in beautiful cardboard cars from the 50's and 60's , how exciting for them. There was even a little gift inside. The music was great all from my 50-60 era !! I love this place and cant wait to go back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPAIR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good quick diner type food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We eat here once a month or so. it is quick and good. The service is good and all are friendly. They have good kid meals, out 6 year old granddaughter says it is her favorite place to eat in Murrells Inlet

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place to Eat”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

this 50's style restaurant was a pleasure as soon as i walked in the door i was greeted by the staff and i was quickly waited on by a waitress with a smile named casey who promptly took care of us. also this was our first time in and she was very helpful in explaining the menu and recommending items. i ended up going with one of them actually which was their pimento cheeseburger! i was blown away by how good this burger was!! this restaurant being decently priced was extremely clean and well kept unlike others i have had experiences with in the past. the only word to describe my experience was perfect cant wait until next time!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lover325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hwy 55 Burgers Shakes & Fries also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hwy 55 Burgers Shakes & Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing