We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Even though the resort isn't on the beach, it is very close to Myrtle Beach State Park and Huntington Beach State Park- and they give you a pass for your car to get in to any SC State Park which is a great value. It's nice to visit the parks because you can have more space at the beach without all the hotel traffic. There are also bathroom and shower facilities at both parks. Plus Huntington Park has a marsh where you can see alligators and birds up close. Back at the resort there is a nice indoor pool and a small outdoor pool, hot tub, putt-putt golf course, picnic area with a small fountain and charcoal grills... You can save money by cooking in your kitchen in your room- it really does have everything you need! Even a washer and dryer. You get a starter kit of laundry soap, dish and dishwasher soap, tissues, bath soaps, coffee, cream, sugar... We brought a lot of unnecessary items that we won't need to bring and take up space next time. (Someone commented on the TV's and stove- they are flat-screen now and glass-top stoves) The screen was not sagging. (We were in unit 9 but they all looked the same)

Room Tip: They all overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    90
    51
    27
    25
See reviews for
149
85
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Stephen, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very nice and clean. Very safe and friendly place. enjoyed our time there. My kids love the pools and putt putt course. We rode bikes one day. Had a lot of neat things you could do in the activities department. We didn't to do any because we were doing other things but would really like to the next time. Loved the fact that you could borrow board games and movies. We were able to go to Huntington State park and my husband and I did a tour of the Waccamaw river it was really nice. Some of our party enjoyed a game of golf. Very nice course. We will be going back in the future. Really enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were slightly disappointed with this resort. The weather wasn't good so that didn't help but we found the staff at check in quite abrupt. The accommodation was ok, quite small. The walkway through the block we were in was very dirty and the same bits of paper etc were on the floor all week. The walls to the adjacent room were paper thin and we had a VERY noisy family who had children screaming until 2am. The pass to the Huntington park was worthwhile. All in all we enjoyed the week but were not sorry to leave. If we visited the area again would probably try somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelindaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was probably the most rundown place my family has stayed in. The room had outdated appliances and furniture. The TV's were old CRT's and not even the good flatscreen ones. The stove had electric coil burners and the furniture was worn and old. The screened in porch (screen was stretched out and sagging) and front stairs had green carpet that was torn. The room had wifi, but it was so slow no one could stand to use it.
It seemed weird that when housekeeping came to the room they could not give us toilet paper and soap. We were told we had to go to the check-in desk. The walls were thin, we were disturbed by a crying baby in the next room every morning.
We went to their timeshare sales pitch and told them about the room and the sales person was embarrassed. She took us to their model room and it was nothing like our room. She said we were in the phase 1. As bad as phase 1 was they should not put anyone in there until it is remodeled.
We did enjoy the free access to the state park beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMPLEMAN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place has poor advertising on their Internet. I called the week before to double check on internet availablity in the rooms, the girl on the phone was short with me after I asked but said yes they did have working internet in ALL rooms. When we arrived, the front check in staff told me othervise that it only worked SOMETIMES. I was totally put off because I had business to attend to on the Internet. We had 2 different rooms for 2 weeks. The first week it worked ok, the second week it said I had wifi on my device but didn't work. So I had to go to the lobby to connect to the internet which also only worked sometimes, and my work then wasn't private there. Over all with respect to the pool and other things it was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at this resort, and we enjoy it! We are a family of four, and typically reserve a one bedroom with a sofa bed. It is a little cramped, but we don't spend too much time in the room. It does have a full kitchen, so we usually eat breakfast and one other meal a day in the room to save on costs. The unit also has a washer and dryer in it that is excellent to have with all of the beach trips. We usually can get a really fantastic deal on Expedia or Price Line. Honestly, you can't beat it for the price. We usually spend a lot of time in the pools, it is convenient to most anywhere you want to go, and usually very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HereWeG02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here as exchange owners. This property itself needs to be updated, we had a few electrical issues with our particular unit and had to move to another unit 4 days into our vacay for safety reasons. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. There are plenty of activities to keep you busy or you can lounge around the pools, take a nature walk or ride bikes. We were close to everything, but far enough to be peaceful. The customer service was great and the staff was very helpful. Access to the private beach is an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Just_Me_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
0.9 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
6.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
6.0 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East

Property: Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Address: 911 Riverwood Dr, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festiva's Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East is located in the heart of the South Carolina low country. This former fishing village is home to pristine beaches and a number of magnificent golf courses and is the "Seafood Capital of South Carolina."eweThe resort is nestled in an oasis of moss-covered oaks along the Intercostal Waterway, offering guests a retreat from the high-rise buildings and congestion of the Grand Strand yet all of the glitz and glamour of Myrtle Beach is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington At Wachesaw Plantation East Hotel Murrells Inlet
Ellington Hotel Murrells Inlet
Ellington Hotel At Wachesaw East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing