We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East to your Saves list
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Riverwood Drive, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The rooms are well appointed and having a full kitchen (with glassware, utensils, dishes, and cookware) was great, having a in room washer and dryer was icing on the cake. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the indoor pool, the pass to the local State Parks and the properties activity center. It was a little cooler during our stay (50's) but the properties amenities made the stay enjoyable. On rainy days we took part in activities at the activity center and borrowed movies from their small DVD collection. A few detractors during my 5 day stay where; I was expecting to have midweek room service, while it never happened it wasn't a showstopper, as we bought a few of our own towels. Also, my room with a "golf course view" was a little "suspect" as the view could only be had by opening a frosted window to another rooms' deck/smoking area. Yuk!

Murrells Inlet is a little far from Myrtle Beach (25 min), especially in traffic, but makes for another place a "day visit". The passes to the State parks where appreciated, because we ended up enjoying those beaches better than the public ones.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urban_Photog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    73
    44
    23
    19
See reviews for
122
70
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a timeshare property and thus consists of 1 or 2 bedroom units with kitchens, dining areas, and living rooms. A 1 and 2 bedroom unit can be connected to make a 3 bedroom unit. There is a charge for daily cleaning and towel service if you want that but there were plenty of towels so it is not necessary, not to mention more eco-friendly. Each unit has a stacked washer dryer so you could wash your own for less than the charge. If you are staying a week there is one midweek service but we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door as we did not need the place cleaned and I did not want anyone coming in. Housekeeping ended up leaving a large bag of clean towels by our door which we did not use.

An earlier reviewer mentioned that there was no frying pan in the kitchen. We found it, and a pizza pan, in the oven of all places, instead of with the other pots. There are also no more bicycles to use.

There are large whirlpool tubs in the bathrooms and screened in porches. There are two outdoor pools and one indoor heated pool that was quite nice even though the outside temps were in the 40's and 50's. A nice golf course is on site and there is a fitness trail nearby with activity stations along it for a good workout. The property is not on the beach but you are given a pass for Huntington Beach State Park and Myrtle Beach State Park. You are close to the seafood restaurants of Murrell's Inlet but at least a 30 minute drive from the Dinner Shows and Theatres of Myrtle Beach.

For golf and seafood this is an ideal location. For beach and shows I would stay farther north, in Myrtle Beach, on the beachfront.

Now for the negatives. Check in is at 4pm and the lady at the front desk was emphatic about that, even though we arrived at 3:30pm. 30 minutes, really? She also was in a hurry because it was her quitting time. If check in is at 4 it makes no sense for front desk staff to be leaving then. I felt we got the bum's rush during check in and wonder if we were given all the information we should have.

It would have been nice to be provided with written driving directions to grocery stores, restaurants, etc. There is wireless internet but it was useless unless I literally stood at the front door. That was very frustrating as was the lack of a newspaper each day. There is absolutely no sound proofing so I strongly advise asking for a top floor unit. Our upstairs neighbors used their jacuzzi tub at all hours and opened and closed their sliding glass door to the porch at all hours also. You could also hear the golf attendants getting ready for the day very early in the morning.

Our unit had a fake fireplace but we could not use it as it was broken. The TV did not work at first either but regardless of the problem maintenance was there immediately and that was refreshing.

We sat through a timeshare talk for 2 tickets to Pirate Voyage Dinner Theatre. Depending on your point of view it was worth it...

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor for less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labpyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

There are bikes to ride that are free. The putt putt course is free. Indoor and outdoor pools. Free admission to a killer state park on the beach close by as well. The three times we have stayed we got a condo room. The entire place is likely condos. They have low rates at times too depending on if they are full or not. The golf course is in great shape and is one of the best on the Grand Strand. We love the entire Murrells Inlet area. It has all of the good features of Myrtle Beach without all of the bad, like college kids, motorcycles, and crippling traffic. Its one of the best deals in vacations. We love it. All three times we have stayed our room had a full kitchen wuth is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlestonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great place to stay with lots to do even if the weather doesn't cooperate. Have been here a number of times and hope for many more. Excellent ,helpful, and very knowledgeable staff. Huntington Beach is close by and is a beautiful walk . Lots of good restaurants nearby and I can't say enough about the Murrells boardwalk. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Phase 2 - They all have golf course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagS486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great stay. Front Desk was very help. All Staff was helpful. Rooms were great. Very clean and full furnished.
Your should try stay at Ellington for yourself. The Murrells Inlet area is very quiet, and nice. There is a Walmart and at least 2 grocery stores close. Also plenty if places to eat that is resonably price. I reccomend staying at ellington.

Room Tip: I love the golf course side of the timeshare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My brother gave us a week long stay at Ellington for our honeymoon! My husband loves to golf and I really wanted to go to the mountains... After being there ONE day, I realized, this was the perfect place for us to be. We went to a driving range and to play golf at a nearby course and I had no idea that I would actually enjoy playing golf. We shared my first experience with golf together on our honeymoon... Wonderful place with access to a lot of shops, restaurants and activities. Very pleased and going back for our one year anniversary! Much thankfulness for my family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Second time to Ellington and as the first, everything was excellent. Many things to do...indoor pool, exercise, and area attractions. We used as a central location and visited other areas in the vicinity. Went to Georgetown for a day, very nice. Restaurants in area have excellent food also.
Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakegirl523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
0.9 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
6.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
7.0 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East

Property: Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Address: 911 Riverwood Drive, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festiva's Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East is located in the heart of the South Carolina low country. This former fishing village is home to pristine beaches and a number of magnificent golf courses and is the "Seafood Capital of South Carolina."eweThe resort is nestled in an oasis of moss-covered oaks along the Intercostal Waterway, offering guests a retreat from the high-rise buildings and congestion of the Grand Strand yet all of the glitz and glamour of Myrtle Beach is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington At Wachesaw Plantation East Hotel Murrells Inlet
Ellington Hotel Murrells Inlet
Ellington Hotel At Wachesaw East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing