We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers and beer? It's all here”
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: "it's all about the burger!" Seven area locations famous for great burgers, sandwiches, and appetizers. Full bar service, open daily for carry-out and casual dine-in seating.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Burgers and beer? It's all here”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The wife and I always enjoy a trip to the River City Cafe. We've tried three locations but the one in Surfside Beach is our favorite. All have same good food

Personally I like the standard cheeseburger and an ice cold PBR here best. Nothing fancy but very well prepared imo. We've tried specialty burgers and w/ exception to the wing sauce on the buffalo chicken sammie (didn't care for) we've always had a great meal. Our neighbors love the turkey burger and it's on my list to try next. My only nit with some of the specilty burgers is they come piled 6" high and thats no small chore to take on.

Great seaside location in Surfside. Very casual. Menu may be limited for some but I never tire of fresh, well prepared burgers so I'm always happy here.

All the peanuts you can eat for free. Whats not to like.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilson023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    136
    38
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What they do, they do very well!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited for lunch. We tried several different burger combinations and all were very good. In addition, we ordered a taco salad and rueben that were also very good. Even my grandson enjoyed his kid's meal. We enjoyed the ultra-casual environment and our server took great care of us. The only negative was the appetizers which we good but way overpriced. All in all, we were all very happy! We have a few more days in the area and I feel sure we'll return.

Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT burgers...”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Small place with excellent food and service. We really enjoyed our meal here. A nice selection of different burgers at a decent price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjthacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uncooked chicken”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Not a good experience at all! Our server was not attentive and my chicken sandwich took over 35min. When I started to eat it the chicken was raw in the middle. Server informed me this had already happened three other times that day. What?! It was taken off the bill and I still paid $16 for two drinks a side salad and fries. Horrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennisprosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of our Surfside favorites”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've eaten at River City for quite a few years now and it seems the quality of their food has been slowly declining. Grouper fingers have morphed into Mahi fingers (maybe there's a shortage of Grouper?) and they're not nearly as good. I had a burger for the first time ever this past visit, and I wasn't impressed at all. Meat was dry and chewy...I guess you have to order a really sloppy version if you want a moist burger. Service is usually quite good, and this visit was no exception. Not a bad option, but not as good as it used to be.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chief601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing