We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Girls" say this is the best place ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppy's Burgers and Subs

Poppy's Burgers and Subs
Ranked #23 of 131 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Girls" say this is the best place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We work at a local business and go to lunch here at least once a week. The food is always delicious and cooked to order! They are always willing to accomodate the pickiest eaters and any diet! Matt and John are so kind and customer oriented! From their salads to their burgers to their deep fried oreos, they ROCK!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    47
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
220 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“You will love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

When we travel, we always try and avoid the chain restaurants, and look for the local favorites. Boy did we find one here! Not only were Matt and Heidi extremely nice and helpful.....John was off that day...... when we walked in, they are just good people! They recommended the Cheesy Western for my sweetie, and I had the Smokehouse Burger.....mmmm, both were very good! We also had the fried pickles and were not disappointed. But the best of all was the fried oreos for dessert. I don't think I'll ever be able to eat a plain oreo again without fondly remembering my trip to Poppy's! In a world of people looking for handouts, it was so refreshing to meet these folks who are betting on their own ingenuity and hardwork, and have created an awesome place to go for a meal. Stop in and meet Matt and Heidi and John, and I guarantee you that you will be glad you did!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTedBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We'll Go Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Looking for a quick and reasonably priced place to eat without all the fuss, Poppy's was an impulse stop. A former Quizno's now open for 315 days as counted on a blackboard we were impressed by the food and the friendliness of the owners Matt and John. They are two regular guys trying to support their families and achieve the American dream. We'll support them and go back. I hope that you do too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I really enjoy Poppy's, I eat there several times a week. The food is always perfect and the Hamburgers are to DIE for, they are hand pattied daily. My personal favorite is the deep fried Oreos. John always has a smile on his face. I highly recommend Poppy's. I feel from personal experience that this is a wonderful restaurant. The guys at Poppy's Burger and Subs are doing a wonderful job and they are a welcomed restaurant to the area!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place has the BEST burgers, subs & fries!!! My husband and I stopped in for our first time and I guarentee it will not be our last. The staff & owner were incredibly friendly and hospitable. The burgers were so juicy and the sub was brilliantly fresh. The fried oreos were too die for! I HIGHLY recommend this place either on your way to the beach to pick up some sandwich or to sit down and have it hot off the grill.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank midgiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy's Burgers and Subs also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poppy's Burgers and Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing