We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the chains!”

Poppy's Burgers and Subs
Ranked #21 of 134 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Midwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid the chains!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

If you're in the Murrells inlet area and need a quick meal, avoid the fast food chains and eat at this great little place for locals and tourists alike! The two guys running it were very friendly, and we felt like they appreciated us stopping in. They prepared our food quickly and accurately, and it was delicious! My husband had the black and blue cheeseburger and I had the chicken bacon ranch sub. Lots of sandwich options and more side options than just fries or chips. The fried pickles were perfectly deep fried. As you can see, the menu isn't elaborate, but it's good, affordable food quick with great service in a fun little place!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elmtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    47
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“great food,great price !!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

food is fresh and great,my fravorite place for a burger,salad or sub.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickeyClinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food for family on a budget”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I had the opportunity to visit Poppy's this past week-end at the recommendation of a "local" resident. The menu has a variety of burger options in addition to sandwiches, chicken wings, and salads, My teen age daughter had the basic cheeseburger with lettuce and tomato - the bread was fresh, the meat was fresh - it was grease free!!! I tried the corn dog from the kids menu- the dough was really good, the flavor not overpowering, and it was cooked just right. We took our order to go, although there was plenty of room for sitting. The place was very cliean, and the guys behind the counter were very nice and accomodating. My sister in law raved about the philly steak sandwich - she mentioned you could actually "taste" the steak, and most importantly, it had no grease dripping off. We wanted to return on Sunday to try the fried oreos and the grilled peanut butter and jelly sandwich, but were sad to see that they are closed on Sunday. I'm looking forward to returning to Murrells Inlet and eating there again!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaLuz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was great!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stopped at Poppy's because my daughter wanted to try the fried oreos. We figured it was just another burger joint. We were surprised. We had salads, burgers, and sandwiches and they were all very good. The price was also very reasonable. Then we got the fried oreos and the fried chocolated cake. Oh my!! They were sooo good. The place is fairly new. In fact they had cute little signs saying the were voted 987 best restaurant and they had only been open 289 days.
The guys running it were very friendly and the place was clean. We would probably have gone back again but found it on the next to last day and just didn't have time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tulsamacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy's Burgers and Subs also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poppy's Burgers and Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing