We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Visit - but nice”

Huntington Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quick Visit - but nice”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were camping at Myrtle Beach State Park, but our Parking Pass also got us into Huntington Beach (wish we knew that before our last night!). We only had a short visit around dusk, and the ocean was at low tide. We had so much fun walking up and down the (empty) beach collecting shells. We didn't use the facilities, but it looked as if they were in good condition, and right off of the beach. We will have to return!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 83JessicaM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,084
    269
    42
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“No wonder this state park was rated #1”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

All park staff we met were wonderful.
Campsites well spaced out with a nice lay out.
Unbeatable beach that is right next to the campground
Very clean
Alligators in the marsh
Birds
And get this -- dogs are allowed on the beach. There were more than a few dogs and the 4 days we were there we never saw a problem caused by a dog. Not a trace of poop anywhere including the ocean and beach.
Water warn and beautiful with sea shells to collect.
Could have stayed far far longer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWonderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Spot...”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice spot, cool to see alligators in their natural habitat on the way in. Beach is comfortable. Very family oriented. Enjoyed our time there!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Come to Atalaya Craft show, last weekend of Sept”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have only been here during the craft show that takes place the last weekend of September. This is a juried show, so you can count on some high quality. Functional items are included, so this isn't just pretty-to-look-at pieces. All exhibits are located on the grounds and inside the house. The corridors are narrow, so there may be difficulty for strollers on a crowded day. It has been a number of years since we have attended, but look forward to getting the kids graduated from school so we can do it again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4Slatesintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pristine Beach”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a fabulous time at Huntington State Park Beach. If you want a peaceful beach without noise and clutter this is it! Enjoyed seeing the herons, egrets and alligators as we drove across the marsh area. They have many walkways looking over the marsh and plenty of picnic areas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lovepontevedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntington Beach State Park also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Huntington Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing