We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inlet Sports Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is over priced and a big disappointment. The nice thing about this stay is that it is a safe place for a single female and the staff are nice, but that is the only thing. This place is totally for a man! The toilet seat does not even fit the toilet, the vanity mirror is too high for the average woman to use, towels are hard, rough and I even found a dirty towel in the bath room from the previous guest!!! The TV sucks, I felt like I was sleeping in the kitchen and the bed was so uncomfortable. Two twin beds placed together with a mattress topper. There are no bell men and the front door is so heavy to open and it does to have an automatic opener so you struggle to get your luggage in. And the threshold going in the room is so high you can't roll your luggage over it.
There were not many people staying there and now I know why. Don't waste your time staying here, go down the road about a mile and stay at the Hampton Inn you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HG1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Traveler,

We are truly sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. You mention that we are over-priced and the Hampton is a better value however, their rates are typically higher than ours and we believe we are priced just right for what we have to offer. We are unique in our own way and as you stated may not be for everyone. We are proud to mention that we have received the Certificate of Excellence 2013 and will work even harder to address all comments and we thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is off the path but worth the detour. Very quiet and clean. The rooms are well appointed and just right for a relaxing stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant on site just in case you want to really stay local and walk down for lunch or dinner. The pool is very tiny so if you are looking to swim laps you might try another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank listentothisadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The pluses: room rate, location, staff, room ambience, room bathroom, room kitchenette! hotel layout. Things to buff up for 5 out of 5: two or three more items on continental, like some type of eggs, bed pad for softer bed, drape structure to keep it totally dark. Oh, also the name doesn't fit for me. How about Murrells Marsh Inn, or Inlet Marsh Inn? Anyway, it's a nice place to stay. :-)

Room Tip: Third floor-less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Awesome service as well as decor, location, and atmosphere...... Michele and staff are professionals top notch! Our family rented 3 rooms for bike week so that we could be close to all the action. We had dinner followed by drinks at Bliss the bar/ restaurant located next to the hotel. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. This is by far the best place to stay in Murrells Inlet. We will be back for future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekid2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate you as a repeat guest and will always do what it takes to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for our anniversary. It's a gorgeous lodge, the room was spacious and had everything and more. Fridge, microwave, stove, dishes. Nice bathrooms with body jets in shower. The bed was really firm which I don't care for but my husband does so that was ok. There's a widows walk and rooftop deck. There is also a very nice restaurant right next door called Bliss. Great menu. Highly recommend this lodge. The girl at the front desk was so genuinely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice,clean room and and friendly staff. The room and common areas are designed/decorated for comfort and style. This was our first stay but I am sure we will be there again. The location is close to restaurants,shopping in Murrells Inlet but not too far to go to Myrtle attractions or Georgetown if interested. The only downside is there is walking noise from the stairs and rooms above. I would stay on the third (top) floor upon return visit to minimize.

Room Tip: Third floor room might minimize foot traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This room. For only $99 per night had many amenities and was beautifully designed from top to bottom. Marble countertops, stove, micro, full size refrigerator, toaster, blender, steaming pot, dishes, coffee maker. Wainscoting on the walls, attractive paint job, lovely modern lamps. Everywhere you looked, there was some fine detail you seldom see in hotels. The entry doors were heavy wood with beautiful carvings. The bathroom has an unusual sink design, and the shower has multiple heads to offer a massage while you wash your hair. I wished we were staying longer than one night.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. 3rd floor offers quicker access to the widows walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleGrzelak, General Manager at The Inlet Sports Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We look forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely,

Michele Grzelak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
5.2 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,904 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
1.0 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inlet Sports Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inlet Sports Lodge

Address: 4600 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range: $112 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inlet Sports Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel in the heart of Murrells Inlet, seafood capital of South Carolina, catering to outdoor enthusiasts, golf lovers, fisherman or anyone looking to relax. We offer Deluxe Studio and Luxury Suite Accommodations. Our standard Deluxe Studios feature a full kitchenette with standard refrigerator with icemaker, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot and two-top burner stove, as well as versatile King or 2 extra-long pillow top Twin bedding and a custom Queen Sleeper Sofa Bed. Bathrooms are equipped with showers that have 4 massaging body jets. Our Luxury Suite consists of the standard Deluxe Studio room plus an adjoining room with optional King or extra- long pillow top twin bedding, regular sofa, bathroom with 4 massaging body jets, microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot and ice bucket. All rooms feature granite countertops as well as pine hardwood floors. On-site we have an award winning restaurant and bar Bliss, room service, meeting room, business center, outdoor courtyard and Widow's Walk rooftop view/sitting area. We are 1 mile south of the Murrells Inlet Marshwalk Marina, watersports, dining & nightlife, and 3 miles north of Brookgreen Gardens & Huntington Beach State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Inlet Sports Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inlet Sports Hotel Murrells Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing