We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick and Choose from the menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties

Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties
Ranked #13 of 131 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Absolutely fantastic restaurant and bar. Great food, great view, great service and prices for an upscale place. Check it out.
Level Contributor
336 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pick and Choose from the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Although our first 2 visits to Bovine's were fantastic, our latest with a party of 5 showed weaknesses in their kitchen's capabilities. The ribs were so over cooked they were dry and bore no resemblance whatsoever to baby back ribs! They did offer another entree which we declined at that point as we were full from the salad bar. They did comp us a choice of dessert. The New York Strip did look like that particular cut of beef and contained a lot of fat and waste. The pizza was excellent as was their fried seafood specialty and the calamari appetizer. The salad bar was again fully stocked and very fresh. We will be back but will caution our guests to steer away from certain menu choices in the future. You also need to check your bill, our "experienced" waiter overcharged us for drinks, he "forgot" that we were there and ordered our drinks way before Happy Hour was over. The waitress he was training was better at her job than he was!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    208
    90
    54
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterson, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Devine Bovine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

At the end of a long day of exploring the area we ended up in Murrells Inlet after hearing that there were some very good restaurants in the area and along the boardwalk. After walking on the boards, studying the various menus we decide to take a chance on Bovines. So glad we did. Two in our party ordered shrimp, one had a salad with salmon, our fourth had a salmon dinner. We were seated with a view of the marsh, and served by a very personable waitress. Our food was wonderful! Prepared fresh and delivered perfect. I have never tasted French fried potato wedges so wonderfully crispy. I am a slow eater, and they were hot and snappy to the last bite. The hush puppies were to drool for. Everyone at our table raved about the food. This will be one warm memory from an otherwise cold two weeks in Myrtle Beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casco, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food & wonderful customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We ate here based on recommendation of a friend. They were busy as they have a Monday night special of 1/2 price pizzas. We were going specifically for seafood. We had the nicest waitress...wish I remembered her name. The salad bar is really great with so much to choose from, including artichokes! Food was pretty good otherwise, I had the barbeque salmon but got bbq sauce on the side. We had an issue with our seating...actually misunderstanding. Sat at a table in the bar area after asking a waiter if we could while we waited to be called, waitress came & took our drink order, then the hostess came & we apparently weren't supposed to be at a table unless called. We were able to stay but someone waiting to be seated was upset & left. We did not intend for any of this. But the manager came to us & took about 1/3 off our bill even though we expl we were not upset in any way. Would go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything Tasted Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had an early dinner tonight at Bovine's. My husband had crab cakes and I order grilled grouper. It was a delicious meal. We both chose to have vegetables as a side rather than potatoes, and split the chocolate mousse cake for dessert. No complaints at all. I do not like salad bars as a general rule, but this one has plenty of fresh ingredients and the pickled beets were very tasty. We have only just arrived in the area, so I don't know if their prices would be considered high or not. The grouper was $27.95 and the crab cakes were $16.95.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not A Happy Valentine !!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Bovine's advertised a Valentine special:fixed price dinner for two which included what appeared to be a choice each of 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and 2 desserts. Upon ordering we were told that we had to share our choice of one appetizer and one dessert not one each as indicated in the ad. Looks like we had a similar experience with the customer who ordered 2 pork chops as described in the menu but got only one. Our appetizer choice was Oysters Rockefeller (5) to share. They were cool and very little taste. The entree was not much better. Both of us picked the Crab Stuffed Maine Lobster which was also cool and tough but was an ample serving. The dessert was Orange Grand Marnier Crepe Suzette which was overly sweet.. Salad came with the meal but it required a trip to the salad bar in another part of the restaurant. Salad bar was the highlight of the meal even though our server was slow in bringing salad plates for our trip to the salad bar which resulted in our entrees arriving well before we finished our salads.. Lesson from this review is to be wary of the difference between what Bovine's writes and what is serves.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golfer781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing