We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille - CLOSED

K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Pawleys Island SC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Welcome Back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

After missing in action for several years, it's great to have K-Rae's back in Murrells Inlet. Located directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, their new location is one of the premier spots in town. Removed from the vacation crowd craziness, it's a wonderful place to sit back, relax, and just chill in a beautiful and serene setting.

Both the menu and the staff appear to be holdovers from the previous restaurant, and we look forward to the new owner putting her personal touch on both. The food is mostly sandwiches and salads, and a cut above your typical bar food. Still, the food is not the star player here, and if your primary interest is an excellent meal, there are better choices in the area. I had the philly cheesesteak, which was good but not great. The beef was tender and the onion and peppers were nicely grilled, but overall, it was a little dry and not brimming over with flavor. My wife's chicken sandwich was "ok". At first glance, the menu is a little pricey, but considering you're also paying for the ambiance, in the end, it's a great deal. On the plus side, drink prices are very good.

Close your eyes and imagine relaxing on a deck directly alongside the river, under the stars and an old live oak tree, enjoying your favorite beverage and a decent meal while listening to live music. That's K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille. If you haven't been there, it's worth checking out. If you were there under the old ownership, it's definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PawleysDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! I will speak to the chef's tomorrow about the food quality. I have been trying to get a handle on how it all works here and make changes as I see them. I appreciate the honest review and will definitely try to remedy the situation with both. Hope you come back and visit us soon. 8-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    63
    22
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great food @ great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We always loved Hannah Banana; so when we visited the same location with new owners and found the same menu, friendly service and wonderful view, we plan to return. Food was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissDixieDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the GREAT review. Sorry it took so long to respond. It's been a crazy few months. Hope to have you back again. Have a great day!
K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Hannah changed to K-Rae's Waterway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hanna Banana was always one of our favorite places when we visited Murrells Inlet. I was really disappointed to find that it had changed owners, but when we visited in early August we found the same great wait staff, chefs and menu. We tend to favor the fried oysters (fried just like you ask), fish tacos, shrimp corn chowder and the peanut butter pie.

We were always treated well at the restaurant under the previous owner and the current manager and staff were very courteous. I wish them well in their new endeavor. They have a great tradition of service to follow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDixieDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great change from resturant before -- Hanna Bannanas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great view good food and friendly people!! This place defiantly needed a change form the Old Hanna Bananas. ... the owners / management from the old restaurant didn't know anything about being friendly ... went in last Saturday night and what a breath of fresh air .. super food and service THANKS!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1sambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your glowing review! Been a hectic few months and I'm finally getting a chance to respond. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Have a great day!! 8-)
K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,Nc
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great change! New friendly owner & still yummy food :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

On Friday, August 2nd, some of our friends (local residents of Pawleys Island) invited us to join them for dinner at a "new" restaurant. They shared the good news that Hannah Banana's Sunshine Cabana had changed management to a friendly local named Kerri who has owned/managed other very successful restaurants in the Murrells Inlet/Pawleys Island area.

This was great news to us because although we have previously enjoyed the atmosphere, view, and food at Hannah Banana's Sunshine Cabana before, we (like other reviewers below) felt the owners/managers seemed unfriendly - maybe they were just "burned out" so selling their restaurant was a probably the best solution.

We were a little apprehensive that the food might not still be as good, but it was great! I had the grilled fish sandwich which came with TWO filets of fish and a side of French fries - this fish sandwich was bigger and better than any others that I have eaten at the many of the local Murrells Inlet restaurants. My husband had the fish & chips and said it was very good in addition to our other friends who had other selections and said the same thing - still yummy food :)

The new name for Hannah Banana's Sunshine Cabana is K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille. I am going to post this review under the new name also, but my husband suggested that I post it here as it might be helpful too. Anyway, if your liked this restaurant before, you are REALLY going to like it now with the new friendly owner and still yummy food! Be sure to meet Kerri - you will enjoy her outgoing personality :)

BTW, don't forget to also order the "Murrells Inlet Truffles" - as the menu says, "if you're not from here, you may know these as mini corn dogs" - all my friends from the North had a good laugh! Final tip: the wine selection is reasonable and Peanut Butter pie for dessert was sinfully good . . . Enjoy :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review. So very glad you and your friends had such a great time and do hope you come back again soon and have an equally enjoyable time! Have a GREAT day!! 8-)

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing