We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local seafood”

Russell's Seafood Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
woodbridge,va
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great local seafood”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place stays busy , we got there on a weeknight in March around 8pm and still had a wait. The hostess was nice enough however to give us a basket of hush puppies to hold us over. I ordered the fried oysters and shrimp and they were large and delicious with just a very light not overpowering batter to them. My husband got the broiled flounder which was also good. My son's hamburger was $8 which is a lot but it was an adult sized portion. The salads were just ok however, I think a homemade ranch dressing would make it nicer. The hush puppies were great. The atmosphere is cool- it's all dark wood with a lot of fishing memorabilia/fish mounts etc. It is a real guys kind of place-saw lots of fishermen, always a good sign if it's full of locals. We would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    163
    76
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Fresh - Just Right!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Enjoyed amazing crab ball appetizers and delicious homemade hush puppies with honey butter. Reasonable prices and very friendly service, including a welcome at the door by Russell himself. Ahi tuna cooked to perfection and superb key lime pie with homemade graham cracker crust.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Drift down to the south end of Murrells Inlet for the best seafood in the Seafood Capital of South Carolina. We were welcomed to Russell's, promptly, shown to our table and then introduced to Tracey, one of the best waitresses we have enjoyed in our travels. She is quite personable and, more importantly, helped us select our entrees - grouper and soft shelled crab. Both were nicely plated and delicious. As an added plus, Russell, stopped by the table and we enjoyed talking about the restaurant scene in Murrells Inlet and Charleston.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zeno34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Have been coming to the beach for many years but have never ate at Russell's. Stopped here on our stay this visit after reading some reviews on tripadvisor. Food was absolutely delicious. The service was great - (Tracy was our waitress). This won't be our last visit, already looking forward to next time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Local Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

When was the last time the owner opened the door and welcomed you into his establishment? That's what Russell did tonight. As you read these reviews, believe them. The food and the service here are excellent.

We came here after reading the reviews. We avoid all you can eat blandness and essentially any place that has a van decorated with a crustacean! Russell's looks like a home and is across the street from the salt marsh with a convenient parking lot. If you come between 4-6, you can enjoy Happy Hour specials. Diane our delightful waitress brought us a basket of hush puppies (wow! So this is what they are supposed to taste like). After inhaling the first basket, she brought us a second! Why not? We then ordered the seafood sampler special: I had deviled crab and shrimp. My hubby had the flounder and shrimp. We generally don't like fried food but took Diane's advice and chose fried over broiled. Good choice. The breading was light and let the flavor of the seafood come through. The flounder was huge and the best we have ever tasted. My only complaint was that my gin and tonic was a bit weak, but hey it was $3. We had 4 drinks and 2 seafood samplers during Happy Hour for a total of $35. We were totally stuffed.

If you want good Carolina seafood please avoid the garish, tasteless buffets. Take the time to visit the local restaurants like Russell's. You won't regret it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fischermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing