We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise find on vacation”

Russell's Seafood Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
Clifton Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice surprise find on vacation”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were looking for good seafood one night, stumbled upon this place, and decided to give it a try. Best decision ever. The food here is fantastic and super fresh; and the service is great too. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. We ended up coming here for 2 or 3 dinners and the waitresses remembered us; you can tell that they really care about their customers and creating a good experience. If you're going for dinner, get there early (we went around 4) because the small dining room fills up fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    168
    83
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the South”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent service, excellent prices!! Best of all excellent food! I absolutely love the she crab soup

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robynmerrywilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham County, NC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Large Group , Small Group”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited 2 nights. First group was 14 men , next night 5 . Russell ,the owner, went out of his way to seat both groups on very busy nights and he is quite a character! Tracy ,our server both nights , is a patient , sweet and efficient multitasker ( with 14 men)!!!.The kind of waitress who makes a great meal even better. We were well cared for by another Murrells Inlet Southern Miss
by the name of "Sue Bob" who is a delightful and classy bar tender, Tracey ,Sue Bob and Russell are the ticket!! Now for the food -- outstanding!! ALL agree that Russell's is the best seafood our tennis and golf group has had in the 28 years that we have come to the beach. The family heritage from the old Wayside Inn makes for outstanding clam chowder and she crab soup( add some cherry for an awesome boost). Oysters, blackened trigger fish and blackened hog fish are perfect.If you do not like this cool place something is wrong with you.
Happy Trails

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food,good service,”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

russells is a small cozy/quaint little place that excels at good, fresh food with a seasoned staff, and consistent quality food coming from the kitchen. you may also eat at the bar if you like and be entertained by SUE ,the bartender. she is a very smart and funny, will make you laugh and gives excellent service ,be it drinks, apps, or full dinners. the restaurant is decorated like a small museum, with a lot of history and odd, unique items all over the whole place. ask russell, and he will give you all the stories behind every piece or picture in there. all in all , iw ould give the entire expierience, 5 stars. between the excellent food, excellent service, the very funny and entertaining sue, behind the bar. russell greeting and checking on you while there, telling stories ,explaining about the the items and pictures hanging on the wall,makes for a very nice evening. i have been going to russells for at least ten years, and i have never been disappopinted. you will miss out ,if you dont at least go once, and if you do, will be the first of many visits i am sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank slappywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding!!! The oysters were perfect and the wait staff was attentive. I actually ordered more oysters after I finished the first plate.The place was busy so we sat in the bar area. The bartender "Sue Bob" was also waiting tables. She did a great job even though she was very busy! Russell, the owner came out and spoke with us. He is a genuine guy who really cares about who and what he serves. I highly recommend this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank wkbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing