We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very ordinary”

Russell's Seafood Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
ND
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very ordinary”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We all ordered seafood dishes. They were just average. this place was recommended by everyone we met, so we were somewhat disappointed. The service was good, but the atmosphere was noisy and crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank marie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    165
    82
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rustic and Good”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped in for dinner last night after a very, very long round of golf in the afternoon. We have always dined at the Hot Fish Club that is across the street and never even knew about Russell's until a friend said that it was simple food, but well prepared. Arriving at 7:30 on a Saturday during the beginning of the season evening without a reservation is asking for trouble (Russell told us it was a 45 minute wait for a party of 2), but we were able to get a seat at the bar right away. Twenty minutes later, even the bar was full. We decided to opt for fresh ingredients, so shrimp was off our list since the season hasn't opened yet. We started with oysters on the half shell from the Gulf Coast (they have local oyster clusters steamed). They were salty and flavorful with a nice, crisp and creamy finish. For the entrees, we chose two specials, fried soft shell crabs and grilled tuna steak. Both were very good and adequately prepared. The couple next to us had fried scallops and they were very satisfied. The highlight of the evening, however, was our bartender. She kept us in stitches through the whole meal. All in all, if I were visiting, this would be fine and is better than most on the Grand Strand. For us, given a choice, we would tend to gravitate to other places in Murrells Inlet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treated like family!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great people, great drinks, food awesome ! Love me some SueBob , She Crab soup, hush puppy's yummmmm!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Term1te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home Style Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and friendly. What I imagine home cooked seafood would be like. Hushpuppies upon arrival is a nice touch. Many of us in our party of 10 enjoyed the fried shrimp. The kids loved the burgers. We got in easily because we went early, and the early bird special was a great deal! Two seafood choices, potato, and salad or slaw. Strange slaw for my taste (sweet pickles in it?), though. The restaurant is across the street from the water, but there's a nice view through the window.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcraft26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but GREAT seafood”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Wow, this is not the run-of-the-mill seafood place at the beach. It is REAL, fresh seafood, cooked into very tasty dishes! The portion sizes weren't astronomical, so I didn't feel like I was wasting anything. The cheezy potato balls were so good, but I only got 2 with my meal! You really need 3-5 to get the full effect. :-) The atmosphere is really nice as well; you feel like you're sitting in a friend's den.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing