We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood”

Russell's Seafood Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Inside is has some neat decorations. Service is outstanding. Feels like a "locals" place. I ordered She Crab soup which i rate very good (not the best but very good) Oysters, very good. Now the crab cake sandwich not so hot... but plenty of other things on menu so I suggest not getting this. Great place I would recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmcgill1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    166
    82
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Was Really Good but So So”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Russells was alway a go to place for us. Wife took over now so so service, she crab soup was wonderful now how hum. Off our list. Big disappointment last year

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localgal10, Owner at Russell's Seafood Grill, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us this time(last year?) I really am confused by your review though. Wife did not take over, Russell is very much still there and nothing from, servers to cooks has changed. Our she-crab soup is made by the same lady that has been making it for 19 years and it is still the best around. Our service is also still the best. Maybe try us again, we might have had an off night. Karen Vereen(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive from Myrtle Beach! Awesome seafood!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Well, after my neighbors raved about Russell's I had to try it. The family came with me on a business trip to Myrtle Beach and we made the 30 min drive down to Murrells Inlet. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was cozy and fitting the area but the seafood was amazing. I highly recommend the She Crab Soup or Oyster Stew and the crab balls were perfect. The entrees were reasonably priced and again awesome. Service was first class too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best In Murrells Inlet”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went there with a large group (12 people). Could not seat us immediately (they don't take reservations), so we went into the bar. It was great. We decided to eat in there because it was so much fun. The bartender, Sue, is worth the visit alone. The owner and his wife were there making sure everything was up to their very high standards. The food was the best I have had in Murrells Inlet or Calabash. Fresh oysters, shrimp, flounder fried to golden perfection. The very best hushpuppies ever! This is a small family owned place with outstanding food and service, well deserving of their Number 1 rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST PLACE IN MYRTLE BEACH!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been to several places to eat down here and Russell's is the Best you will find! Food is awesome, great fresh selection!! Its smaller than your typical Myrtle seafood restaurant, but you can't beat the friendliness of Russell and the staff. Prices were great and Robin was an awesome waitress! Russell talked with us after we were done eating and was so nice and appreciative of our visit. Definitely will always come back to Russell's with every visit!! A+++++.
Thank you Russell and Robin!!!!
We will see you again in June,
The Shockey's (Yankees from Johnson City, TN) & The Street's (Jonesborough, TN)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shockey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing