We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a beautiful private park you can walk through; it is worth the drive and price to see.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank audnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,302
    293
    63
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see...more than once!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have a season pass...any day, any time of day, any age... beautiful, tranquil, informative. You should definitely "leave the beach for this!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrMommaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply put.... amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you like outdoor landscapes - flowers, shrubs, water gardens, and groomed lawns, and if you enjoy American figurative sculpture, then this place is for you. You will no doubt enjoy this sanctuary of hundreds of acres of beautifully landscaped grounds combined with nearly 1400 sculpture. The staff, all volunteer, work to provide an amazing experience. I've spent three days combing this place and still have more ground to cover.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank salisbury56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No wonder you get a 7 day pass!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have travelled all over the world and this is one of the most extraordinary places I have been to. What makes it unique is the diversity of flora, fauna, rich history, nature paths, activities you can do. There is something for everyone of every age group. I did the boat trip - which was too short and not as good as other boats trips I have done in the area - and two adventures - south/north plantation tours in jeep like vehicles (with seat belts). While there are no buildings left of the plantation era, you get so much information from the tour guides that you can recreate it in your mind. I can't enough about the quality of service/guides at this garden. I also visited the sculpture garden - you have to be there to appreciate its beauty and rarety; a nature trail which leads to the zoo (all rescued animals). Everything is so well thought out. You can drive around and park at some of the sites around the gardens which is real handy when it gets real hot. There are designated picnic areas and until sometime in August, the gardens are open on Weds/Thurs/Fri evenings until 9pm with activities/music/boat tours. I only got to scratch the surface...yet I leave with so much more knowledge and appreciation for the history of this area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very pretty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

loads of walking spaces. pretty flowers wonderful very old live oaks. will put you in a good mude

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank notwalaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing