We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

After seeing an advertisement for Brookgreen Gardens on the Myrtle Beach visitor channel, we decided to visit. We were heading to Murrells Inlet anyway. You pay for admission which is good for 7 days. There is so much to see and do, I can't imagine doing it all in one trip. We only visited the zoo and butterfly house. The zoo was unlike any I'd been to. The animals are in their natural habitats and you can walk through them. The place has an awesome aviary with native birds, an otter habitat (which I must say was my favorite part of my vacation), alligators, deer, turkeys, foxes, and birds that aren't in the aviary. The butterfly house was educational and beautiful. There are over 200 hundred butterflies in the small house. We spent the majority of the day between the two places. On our next trip we will visit the sculpture gardens.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscarr1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,302
    293
    63
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful statues and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Loved it. Nice relaxing boat ride. Beautiful statues all throughout the gardens. If you love nature you will enjoy this experience. The restaurant food was also very good and reasonable.We even saw alligators on the boat ride.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hbenso, Vice-President at Brookgreen Gardens, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We are always glad to hear that guests enjoy their visit and share their experience with others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a peaceful retreat! Whether you like art, or flowers, or a leisurely walk in the beautiful SC weather, this is one place to stop while in the Myrtle Beach area to just slow down for a little bit and take a refreshing deep breath.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank keekes1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A day you will never forget.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I liked everything about Brook Green Gardens. A great place for taking photos, picnik area, Zoo, Restaurant and fabulous sculpture and Alligators in their natural settings. There is so much to see that it will take a day or two to see everything. Tickets are good for 7 days. Our family visit's Brook Green at least twice a year.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank spike131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Must-see Gardens/Sculpture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is one amazing place. Ample free parking is available. It has many interesting things to do. Beautiful gardens, sculpture, fountains, ponds, zoo and picnic area. We planned on spending only a few hours, but we ended up spending more than 1/2 the day. We never saw everything. We will remember this place. Don't forget a camera and do take the tram to reduce steps.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexansAlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing