We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, beautiful, peaceful, poetic, artistic, graceful, historic”
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, beautiful, peaceful, poetic, artistic, graceful, historic”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited Brookgreen Gardens the first week of April 2012 over spring break. Lovely, beautiful, peaceful, poetic, artistic, graceful, historic... just some of the words to describe Brookgreen Gardens. Formerly three different plantations, the 9,000 acres left by the Huntingtons to the state of SC were transformed into an amazing oasis of history, art, and culture. Besides ponds, rice fields, sculpture, fountains, huge live oak tree allees draped w/spanish moss, we saw a small (3-4 foot) long alligator sitting along the bank of a pond, toured the zoo & aviary, saw mules, horses, wild turkey, a variety of birds including owls, eagles, hawks, foundations of the former slave quarters, and many, many flowers and plants lovingly cared for and displayed by the caretakers who work there. There are many things to see and do (some tours cost extra, beyond the entrance fee) but as this was our first visit, we just roamed as much of the place as we could in the day we had to visit during our trip. Our 12-yr-old enjoyed the children's garden, the zoo, the many lion sculptures and the alligator we happened upon along the bank of the pond (we did keep our distance, but my hubby got close enough to determine it was real). There are signs everywhere warning to not feed the animals and to stay on the paths as there are many forms of wildlife in the area - and being a swamp, gators are part of the deal! There are restaurants both sit-down and to-go w/a patio that had tables to enjoy a quick bite. We didn't pack a picnic but grabbed hot dogs for lunch. Ck out the website for details. This is an amazing place to visit - especially if you like nature and gardens.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbpnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,536
    318
    74
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful stop!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I would return here again and again! This is an absolutely amazing place that is kept in great condition with tons of stuff to see! We visited the zoo and wildlife areas, and took a boat ride through the old rice fields. We didn't even have a chance to explore the sculpture garden. It was a great place and very easy to do with small kids.

There is a shuttle to get you from place to place, but it is only a few minutes walk between the major location. Walking opens up your schedule a lot instead of being tied to the shuttle schedule.

A must-see!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brookgreen Gardens”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful Sculpture park. Only American artists on display.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeanettePaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Scupting delight”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I really enjoyed these gardens with all the beautiful statues. We missed the spring flowers because they bloomed so early this year. The Kitchen restaurant has great scones!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mom8xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great value for the money, a 7 day pass will cost you just $7 and you will not feel robbed. You will wonder why it cost so little for so much. This place is gorgeous, well maintained, well loved, and unique. Don't miss a quick stop for tea at the old kitchen house in the back . The river cruise is a nice, relaxing way to enjoy the plantation after touring the grounds. We kept wishing we had a good book so we could sit on one of the lovely benches and just read in the shade. The black horse flies are quite busy at this time of year so be prepared to be bitten. It was the only blemish on a fabulous outing. Oh, that, and the fact that we didn't have time to come back for our second day to use our pass. Cherish places like this, They are rare. Everyone who works here loves this place and practically oozes when they talk about it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank fransbaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hbenso, Public Relations Manager at Brookgreen Gardens, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your visit to Brookgreen Gardens. The black flies you mentioned are active for a very short period in the spring and will be gone within the next week or so. We are offering a 40% discount on insect repellent at our gift shop during the month of April to make the guest experience less "bugged".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing