We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It started with great $3.00 drinks...”
Review of Salt Water Creek

Salt Water Creek
Ranked #13 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It started with great $3.00 drinks...”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The bartender created four excellent drinks for our party, as we looked over the early bird menu. Three of is settled on the $19.95 1 lb lobster special, which included a baked potato and vegetable. So good... and the meat was easy to access. Our waitress was sweet, enthusiastic and attentive. Unfortunately, the weather was a little gray when we arrived, so we ate indoors. By the time we left the sun was shining and customers were eating on the patio listening to a singer on the acoustic guitar. Perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Speddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    145
    49
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you enjoy overcooked food with no taste”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Well then by all means this is your first choice destination. We ate her on Sunday night and it was mediocre at best and terrible at least. The chicken francese consisted of deep fried chicken that was so overcooked it was awful, tough and chewy. The pasta underneath was mushy and the sauce had less flavor then the glass of water I drank. My dining companions were underwhelmed as well...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsfan5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great priced meals”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

went here several times to date. good food, good staff, good values.
very good overall food and drinks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retireejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The "LAST " Second Chance”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have had many poor experiences here. Slow service, inconsistent food quality, dishes not always made the same. We gave up and did not go there for a couple of months, had a couple of meals that were okay. Recently on Saturday we decided to go since they offer a brunch on Sat. and Sun. Walked in at noon, no one to greet and few people in the dining area. After a more than reasonable wait, my husband finally walked across the restaurant to the kitchen to let them know we were there. At last some came out and seated us. He indicated someone would be taking care of us right away. We waited and waited and waited. Finally, we decided to leave. Someone came after us and asked why were were leaving???? And by the way, we are leisurely diners.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaCasa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great recommendation from a local.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stopped for lunch on a Wednesday. No problem getting seated and water was served in a large carafe. We ordered half and half sweet tea. It came with a great brewed color, a fresh slice of lemon and a sprig of mint. It was refreshing. I ordered the salad with fried oysters, shrimp and calamari. It was huge with great thousand island dressing. I got two shrimps, five oysters and a lot of calamari. All perfectly cooked and tender. I could not eat it all. Spouse got an oyster poor boy with sweet potato fries. He said it was delicious and cleaned his plate. We might go back for dinner to try the key lime pie and banana pudding. Everything was prepared fresh on site. The service was very good and price very reasonable. I did not notice much fare that was not fried or barbecued so expect "down home cooking". We'll worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita of the River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Water Creek also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salt Water Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing