We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop for dinner. Great Early Bird menu.”
Review of Salt Water Creek

Salt Water Creek
Ranked #13 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for dinner. Great Early Bird menu.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant is worth including on your dining plans. Arrive early as this establishment seems to always be busy. Considering the volume of people the service was good. One dish came out perfect, the other, a steak came out extra well done when medium well was ordered. SWC has an excellent early bird special which really helps take the sting out of eating out. The atmosphere was nice, and at the outside seating area a person was playing a steel drum. Very nice indeed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    145
    49
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful new find in Murrell's Inlet”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food, good prices and a relaxing atmosphere. We all enjoyed the Saturday Blue Light special - a whole fresh Lobster. For starters we had the loaded potato chips, which were sinfull but worth the calories and house salads which were accompanied by hot delicious bread. We had no room left for desert unfortunatly as those which passed our table looked promissing. The only critique is our server was definitly slow and sometimes hard to find. We hardly minded though as we sat under a moss covered live oak on a beautiful patio listening to a gentleman sing and play his guitar.

I hope to return on my nex trip to the coast and plan to try the pizzas and brunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLWH-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the warm review. Hope to see you on your next visit to the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A surprise.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere . Food was very good. My group ordered from hamburgers to Mahimahi. Service wasn't that great that night. The waitress didn't check on us but maybe once after food served . We had to keep asking for refills and other missing parts of our meal. I would definitely give it another try. !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thejourney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Glad to hear are food was great. I am sorry the service was not up to our standards. Thank you for taking the time to review Salt Water Creek Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

First timer to this well reviewed restaurant. Group of 7 adults and one 18 month old for dinner early in the evening. Service was outstanding and our waitress was attentive and made suggestions to keep the youngest busy until dinner arrived.
Broiled Mahi Mahi was dry and the rice side hard and either dried out or not cooked. Two fish taco platters were cold. Shrimp scampi served with angel hair pasta and a watery sauce.
Sad when Cracker Barrel served a trout dinner which was outstanding, costs less and seasoned perfectly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alibione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am very sorry your meal was not up to our reputation. I will pass along your comment about your wonderful and attentive service to the wait staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food - a real find”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We happened to spot SWC while going through Murrells Inlet and thought it looked interesting. Usually, we tend to have checked places out beforehand, but took a chance. My wife and I both enjoyed our lunches very much, agreeing that everything tasted remarkably fresh.Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j2dor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for taking a chance on us. Now that you have checked us out we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Water Creek also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salt Water Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing