We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat with friends!”
Review of Salt Water Creek

Salt Water Creek
Ranked #14 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Cheraw, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with friends!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the second time we have been here when visiting MB. It was recomended to us by some friends that live here in Murrells Inlet. We have had a great experience both times. We started out with the calamari appetizer and I had a salad with their honey-lime dressing (homemade and some of the best I have ever had) and my husband had the She Crab soup. It was also delicious. I had the Thai chicken, rice, and carrots and Greg had the special of the evening which was Swordfish, baked potato, & a vegetable. Everything was great and if we get a chance we would visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Great to have your repeat business while in town. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    145
    49
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Salt Water Creek a great place”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Salt Water Creek is not only great, but surprising on the quality of the food and service. You get a lot of value for the money. Still love their soup and their house wine is not bad either.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review. Always great to hear praises from the locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rhett Butler is ALIVE!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My sister and I vacation every year for a month in this area. How we have not found the Salt Water Creek cafe before is beyond us. If you plan to be in the Mrytle Beach area, this delightful cafe should most definitely be on your menu. One of our favorite items is the Rhett Butler panni. Like most of the menu offerings, it is Southern comfort food with an upscale twist. This sandwich is a fried green tomato, thick bacon, and pimento cheese spread on a grilled ciabatta roll with remalaude sauce. We shared it with along with BEST sweet potato fries in the area. We finished our lunch with a piece of key lime pie:) We decided that this meal will always be the way we end out annual trip. We do, however, plan to work our way through their menu during our stay next year!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Booner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Yes he is alive! Thanks for finally stopping in and eating here. We look forward to your return on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average food, great service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found the food to be bland and uninspired, but our server was excellent. They seem to shove tables everywhere, so there's not much hope of a nice quiet meal. The overall place is quite noisy. Not sure we would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nogranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
glad to hear you enjoyed the service. Sorry your meal was not equally as good. We hope you will give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

good food, good following but noisy. The place is very open so there is a lot of activity around the floor. The outside seating is facing the hwy. and the parking lot so really not attractive. If you can get past all this, the food is really good and the servers are nice people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAMAJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmakj, Owner at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Sorry about the noise level. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Water Creek also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salt Water Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing