We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried food and bar food only”
Review of Creek Ratz

Creek Ratz
Ranked #29 of 138 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fried food and bar food only”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went out for a late dinner and the GPS sent us to Hwy 17 instead of Business 17 so we missed our chance to eat at the nicer sister restaurant. Instead, we ended up in this smoky bar (that is supposed to be non-smoking) with fried food and bar food in a place that's supposed to have the best seafood in the area. What a disappointment. We spent $50 with tip on very average bar food and two drinks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Golfing_Girl076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    225
    109
    65
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We received a tip to eat here and they were right. The food was good and the service was even better. The wait was long so we ended up sitting at two tables in the bar area. The bartender was our waitress and she was great. My husband loved his crab cake, the kids loved the fried shrimp and I had the shrimp grits, which were some of the best I had ever had!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, expected better menu”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was here on a Sat. evening, first meal after having arrived at the beach. Atmosphere was good, open air on the marshwalk. Great views for those outside and crowd seemed to be enjoying the evening. We were located just inside the doors and could hear the music. Was somewhat disappointed in the menu selection...seemed heavier on the sandwiches/pizza rather than dinner. I did have the crabcakes which were decent, but the sides of fries and slaw were just okay. I expected more seafood options for dinner, most were only available fried. Two children with us frowned at the children's menu and chose to split the serving of crab legs, no sides with it.

Would probably enjoyed it more as a casual appetizers and drinks, rather than a family dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The only place to eat in Murrells inlet.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the best place place to eat. All the food is great. When I get off the plane this is where i head to. I was here in August.Great food great view of the Marsh. They had a group of young kids playing music outside. They sounded really good. The wait staff would get side tracked every now and then, but all in all they did a good job.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“OK but better choices available”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We come to Myrtle beach every year and found CreekRatz on the marshwalk a few years ago. Looks like a nice little place but after a couple of visits we stopped coming due to poor staff attitude. After a couple of years we decided to try it again but it has not improved. We ordered Hush puppies as an appetizer and it cam e with the meal, and cold. The fries with the sandwiches were also cold. Waitress told us the hush puppies were under the heat lamp so may be cold but the fries were fresh and were most certainly not cold. We handed her one and said just feel it, she got a major attitude but after some prompting did bring a few fresh ones. Crab cake is very good, the rest of us had the Ruben which was just OK and not worth the $11 (including cold fries) There is outside seating but we have never been able to sit there even at times when it was empty and we requested it. So unless you want average food and poor service go next door to dead dog and get the same view with better food and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creek Ratz also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Creek Ratz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing