We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Kids Suites Just a little pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very Nice Kids Suites Just a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2005

My wife and I with our 3 boys (10, 5, and 3) always stay in a kids suite. Its a Very nice setup with 2 bedrooms. The masterbedroom is very roomy and has a Hot tub in it. The kids room has 2 single beds and also has 2 nice mats to put down for a 3 or even a 4th kid. The kids room has a TV, VCR and a Stereo/cd player. Only draw back is an indoor pool, which is nice if it nasty weather outside.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
44
35
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2005

We stayed for 5 nights in July as part of our vacation. It is ideally located if you don’t want all the noise and tourist tat, has Litchfield beach only 10 mins drive south but all of Murtle Beach’s attractions about 30/45 mins north. Brookgreen Gardens which we enjoyed is also very close. There is a shopping mall and plenty of restaurants nearby with a Wendy’s and a Cracker Barrel in walking distance. We didn’t find any of the horrors that other people reported but whilst reasonably clean it wasn’t immaculate. The room was somewhat dark having only a small window, poor lighting and dark decor. It was reasonably roomy, had a refrigerator and microwave and the staff seemed polite if somewhat overworked. The complimentary breakfast was good but the seating area could be larger. We enjoyed our stay here but probably more because of the location than the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjm_wjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

I don't know who the other people are who stayed at this hotel, but I found the hotel classy and very clean. It was a little more expensive than some of the hotels in the area but the value was well worth it. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the front desk staff was very accomodating and pleasant.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2005

I give this hotel 3 N's for the overall sorriness of my family's stay. The rooms are rather pricey for wha you get..which isn't much. If you're considering this place, I'd say, get a tent instead because you'll be more comfortable. An earlier post mentions the roaches in the room, they didn't mention the rats (maybe they're mice) running around in the hallways and all over the grounds of the hotel. We even found a few dead one's in the pool ("guess they don't swim very well"as the pool person told us in barely understandable english). I don't wish to start a culrture war with my post, but my gosh can't hotels get English speaking people for heir hotels in America! The room seemed to have alot of features, but beware, the refrigerators (which are dirty) will freeze anything left in them. The microwave seemed like it was more of an execution chamber for the forementioned rats as ours was very dirty inside. The showers...well the showers smelled really bad (a mix of body odor, mildew and rotten eggs). We're not sure if our room was used for some lab experiment prior to our styaing there, but it would have been nice to have had it cleaned when we got there. We called guest services and finally someone came up (once again a non-english speaking woman) she basically walked around and "blessed" the place with her duster and sprayed some disenfectant in the air and said "room clean!" before ambling off with her cart to the elevator (she reeked of smoke herself, so we assume we checked into her private smoking area). Overall, this was not what we expect from a Holday Inn (even an express).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murrells Inlet hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2005

The hotel itself was bright and cheery upon arriving...I wish I'd had turned around then. I had to take my own luggage in and had a difficult time finding a cart. The desk people were preoccupied when I got their and then couldn't find my reservation. Instead of the suit room I had booked I got downgraded? SInce I had pre-paid I was very unhappy...when I asked about a refund I was told to contact some other company in Charlotte NC and complain? This is about as low class as it gets folks. The room initially seemed sanitary and clean, but when I went to bed, I felt something crawling on me...I turned on the desk lamp to see no less than 10 roaches in my room scampering under the bed. I called the fornt desk and they laughed and said, they were not roaches but palmetto bugs? They looked dlike roach to me. Anyhow, the next day I tried to arrange for a shuttle and was given a list of taxi's serving the area. No one at the desk seemed to know any good tourist areas so I was pretty much left to my own, and the gun filled brochure I had left in my room. I'd give this place a 1/2 star only because it exists...not much more.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2005

I knew ahead that when I visited Myrtle Beach, it would be bike week (Memorialy Day wknd) and I'd want to stay inland, away from the congested festival area, but didn't know the area- so we decided to find a place to stay once we were down there. Turns out there's really nowhere to stay inland ,(except a few truck stop dives) so this is the place we decided on, after driving around for hours, trying to get away from the biker area, but not too far from the airport, since we were flying back the next morning.
We were floored by the price- $329 for one night! The hotel was ok- nothing special- not even on a beach. In the bathroom was soap and shampoo. For that price, I'd expect the whole basket of goodies- or at least hair conditioner!
We got a non-smoking room, but it smelled of stale cigarette smoke.
One redeeming thing is the continental breakfast was nicer than I've seen in other hotels. Also, there's a small movie theater nearby.
All in all, I feel we got ripped off on the price because of it being a holiday and other hotlels nearby having no vacancy.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2005

At check in we were upgraded to a two room suite with a jacuzzi. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. Desk staff was pleasant. Breakfast was great! Close to shopping mall and lots of restaurants, not to mention Myrtle Beach airport is only about 10-15 minute drive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAtraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
2.2 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
7.4 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet

Property: Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Address: 1303A Tadlock Dr, US 17 Bus. and US 17 Bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-7842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murrells Inlet is located in the heart of Murrells Inlet, convenient to Litchfield, Surfside Beach, Pawleys Island and just 12 miles from Myrtle Beach. Murrells Inlet offers great dining, entertainment, attractions and everything under the sun to make your vacation, event or business trip fun and memorable. You'll be amazed at the Hidden treasures located within minutes of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and the Murrells Inlet area: Huntington State Park: Just 4 miles away and filled with adventures for adults and children of all ages at this amazing park. Enjoy the beach, bird sanctuary, sea turtles, seas oats, deep sea fishing, a sight seeing, bike trail or dinner cruise. Get back to nature and don t miss the education center featuring a saltwater tank, live baby alligators and more. Brookgreen Garden Plantation & Gardens: Enjoy the castle, animals, hand made sculptures, take a boat tour of rice patties and the gardens are spectacular. Ocean Sightseeing & Dolphin Watch: Enjoy the ocean sightseeing, kayaking, deep sea fishing, boat rentals, Jet Ski s or take a sight seeing tour or dinner cruise. Just twelve miles away you will find all the wonders of Myrtle Beach, including the FREEstyle Music Park, Broadway at the Beach, entertainment, dinner theaters, night life, golf, beaches and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet Hotel Murrells Inlet
Holiday Inn Murrells Inlet
Murrells Inlet Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing