We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again.”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Three years ago we stayed here - unaware that there would be major renovations and lots of noise (early am until evening) due to it. Work was being done in the room right above ours! We complained and were told by the manager that there were no other rooms available and that he would make it right with us - we could stay in a 2 bedroom suite for $100 next time we visited (except during holidays). With my father in law's passing this week, I attempted to secure the suite for 3 nights - best he could do was a standard room for $93, $110 (weekend) rate.

Decided to check other hotels - got a $109 rate in a newer hotel with a larger room and more amenities.

Was disappointed that our first trip there was ruined by the noise of construction and there wasn't a better rate offered this time.

Room Tip: Try another hotel first. Don't accept a delayed promise to "make things right" the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Sam P,

Thank you for sharing your experience from when you stayed 3 years ago. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
48
37
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel sits in a wedge-shaped area created by the southern junction of US17 Bypass and US17 Business, which made it a tad confusing to access upon arrival. It shows a bit of wear in places, particulary the carpet in our hallway, which looked recent, but presented several stained areas that needed attention, especially aound the elevator door. The two top floors were under renovation while we were there.

My request for a quiet room was cheerfully honored, and it was, indeed, quiet.

Our third floor room was nicely carpeted and painted, and actually was a small suite, rather than just a two queens room we had reserved. The suite was equipped with a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, wet bar, work table, cocktail table, vanity, and small sofa.

The beds were perfect, with the right degree of firmness for our tastes, sheets fresh and new looking, and four pillows.

The bathroom was rather small, but clean, and stocked with an abundance of good quality towels. As with nearly every hotel we have stayed in in many countries, this bathroom featured the obligatory squeaky hinge, loud enough to awaken the light sleeper when the door is opened and closed in the wee hours (Get it? The wee hours??). I'm convinced there is a required international standard mandating this noisy feature.

This was a pleasant stay, made so by a friendly, helpful staff and by the ample breakfast offerings provided in a room being tended by a cheerful attendant continually cleaning and restocking.

The free WiFi worked well, and the AC was blessedly quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2getaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was clean and staff were nice. A great place to stay in Myrtle Beach. It's close to all the attractions. A must stay when you go to Myrtle Beach.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Farah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Had a great stay at Holiday Inn Murrells Inlet SC. Went to visit my sister, they welcomed my dog (who was very good on our stay). The staff is ALL very nice and helpful. Great breakfast. Great rooms Great rate. Will stay there everytime we visit my sister. Cant say enough good things about this hotel.......

Room Tip: Had a king jaz. Very nice size room and my dog loved her stay also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great little hotel. Breakfast every morning was delicious. Eggs, sausage, toast, sweet rolls and coffee. Rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed in a King w/jaccuzzi. Very comfortable at a reasonable rate. Hotel is located in the fishing village of Murrells Inlet. Know as the seafood capital of the South. It is 14 miles south of Myrtle Beach so you are away from the crowds. You can also hop down to Charleston, SC in a hour and a half (90 miles). For you Cracker Barrel fans, there is one next door and it is not as busy as the ones right off the interstates. There is also an indoor pool. I will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it to you.

Room Tip: I recommend the King w/jaccuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppierce_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga,NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The rooms were very clean with a nice little sitting area with a table and love seat,office chair and a desk .The room was also equipped with a refrigerator ,microwave and a bar sink The rooms were equipped with safes but it looked as though you had to get lock assemblies from the front desk, I did not bother.The bathroom was very clean and had a granite counter top that was slightly higher than the standard height found a many other hotels. I find it to be a more comfortable working height and I am only 5'7". The TV was a flat screen and I had to wiggle the wire in the back to get it to work but it was fine for the rest of the week.The 2 queen sized beds were comfortable and slightly firm,and no signs of bedbugs.:0)
The breakfast was fine and the employees were very friendly and helpful.They also had an indoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga_NYRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Used by points for this stay. The staff was friendly and helpful even though we arrived very late. It is away from the hub hub of Myrtle Beach but there are restaurants nearby. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was bountiful and well maintained. The pool was clean, warm and fresh. The exercise room was clean and equipment was in working order. Evening cookies and morning newspapers were also provided. We went the last week of December for 2 days. I would go back if in the area. The location is convenient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICor1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murrells Inlet
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
3.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,514 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#4 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,834 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
215 reviews
8.4 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet

Property: Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
Address: 1303A Tadlock Dr, US 17 Bus. and US 17 Bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-7842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murrells Inlet is located in the heart of Murrells Inlet, convenient to Litchfield, Surfside Beach, Pawleys Island and just 12 miles from Myrtle Beach. Murrells Inlet offers great dining, entertainment, attractions and everything under the sun to make your vacation, event or business trip fun and memorable. You'll be amazed at the Hidden treasures located within minutes of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and the Murrells Inlet area: Huntington State Park: Just 4 miles away and filled with adventures for adults and children of all ages at this amazing park. Enjoy the beach, bird sanctuary, sea turtles, seas oats, deep sea fishing, a sight seeing, bike trail or dinner cruise. Get back to nature and don t miss the education center featuring a saltwater tank, live baby alligators and more. Brookgreen Garden Plantation & Gardens: Enjoy the castle, animals, hand made sculptures, take a boat tour of rice patties and the gardens are spectacular. Ocean Sightseeing & Dolphin Watch: Enjoy the ocean sightseeing, kayaking, deep sea fishing, boat rentals, Jet Ski s or take a sight seeing tour or dinner cruise. Just twelve miles away you will find all the wonders of Myrtle Beach, including the FREEstyle Music Park, Broadway at the Beach, entertainment, dinner theaters, night life, golf, beaches and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet Hotel Murrells Inlet
Holiday Inn Murrells Inlet
Murrells Inlet Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing