We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Place to Stay while visiting Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay while visiting Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to visit Charleston but not have to pay as much as you would if you stay in the city. It is literally right off the Ravenel Bridge. Taxis to downtown Charleston are not very expensive and are often cheaper than driving into town and paying for parking. I've stayed in downtown Charleston several times, but I think this will be my new hotel when I visit. Plus, Mount Pleasant shouldn't be ignored while in Charleston. There are some great waterfront dining near the hotel as well.
This hotel is like most Hampton Inn's. Nothing too fancy, but clean and nice. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is also a plus.
My only complaint is that the hotel thermostat wouldn't go below 68 degrees. I know that's not a big complaint, but I like it cold at night. I can understand why it is limited though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildeRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    240
    66
    26
    18
See reviews for
244
287
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked this hotel for a two day excursion to Charleston/Mount Pleasant area. The hotel is conveniently located right over the bridge from Charleston proper and very close to the Patriot's Point activities. We arrived at 4PM and were greeted by the very kind and super helpful Cynthia. She informed us that our room was not ready (as they had been full the night before). No problem as we were going to go downtown. We asked her not to give our room away and were assured that it wouldn't happen.

We got back to the hotel at 10:30PM and when we went to check in to be told (not by Cynthis - a new gentleman) that the room we requested was not available! We did get a room however. When we asked the gentlemen at the desk why we didn't get the room we wanted we were met with a big stare...

Anyway, it was late, we were tired. The room we did get was very nice. Big bed, clean bedding, clean bathrooms (showers a bit dated but functioned very well). Downstairs they have the lovely Hampton amenities (coffee, free light breakfast etc.). Our room looked out onto the pool which we did not use, but it looked clean and nice (although smaller). Check out was a cinch.

If you are traveling for business or pleasure in this area I would suggest this hotel. Very convenient (you can be downtown in 10 minutes or less). Friendly (well except for that stare we got!) staff. Clean, fresh hotel. Not dated in my opinion (the standard sliding glass showers could stand an update). Oh, free Wi-Fi (can't beat that).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

You almost always know what you're going to get with a Hampton Inn and this property is no exception. Clean room, good beds, all the necessities, etc. Refrigerator and microwave were an unexpected bonus (guess I didn't read about them in the amenities but it made us happy). Our room here even had a nice work area with a desk, good lighting and comfortable chair. We were greeted by a very professional desk clerk who made sure to point out all of the features of the hotel and some resources for the local area. We would definitely stay here agan if given the opportunity.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Arrived for a one night park and cruise out of Charleston Harbor at that time I noticed I had booked for the wrong night... AHHHH! However, the night manager graciously let us rebook the rooms!

Additionally there was a great buffet breakfast and a nice room for the price.

Car was safe the entire cruise. And Cruise and Park was only $20 additional per passenger traveling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MyOpinionsVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel (location, rooms, breakfast) are all good as advertised and reviewed. The only problems I had with my room is that the water would run brown a little first before turning clear and there was some paneling on the desk that was peeling off. The service, on the other hand was a bit of a let down. I had higher expectations after reading some of the reviews. The front desk and breakfast staff were not friendly though. I wonder if it was because of the Christmas holiday or if that's just how it is. They weren't rude, they just didn't go above and beyond to make you feel welcome (especially for guests having to be in a hotel on Christmas). I would stay here again though, if the price was right.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wkopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at this Hampton Inn upon our return from a one-week trip. The highway immediately around the hotel has been under construction or what seems to be 5 years or more. Despite the road work, the Hampton Inn was a good experience. It was fairly easy to get in and out of the place. This Hampton location (as with most others that we have stayed in) was clean and well maintained. The staff were totally professional and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was adequate for starting the day off with although we would have both preferred a few more choice like hot biscuits, sausage patties, etc. Their scrambled eggs were not tasty at all. My wife and I both commented on how friendly everyone was around the place - both hotel employees and their guests. It made for a very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We finally hit the homerun! With a child at the College of Charleston, I made the trip to South Carolina multiple times every year. If I didn't need to collapse from exhaustion in Wild Dunes for a week or so, I was generally in the area for only a 2 night stay filled with endless shopping and running around for college "stuff"... this meant everything from Target to Gwynn's, KMart to King Street. Needless to say, little time was spent in the room. My goal on every trip was to find convenient, clean yet reasonable accomodations. I am sorry that I didn't find this Hampton Inn sooner. I literally stayed at over a dozen different places over four years, having made the trip multiple times per year. Public parking in downtown is well marked and inexpensive. It was easy for me to park my car and eat at S.N.O.B's or High Cotton or toward King you can use the lot at the Charleston Place to walk to Poogan's Porch or Husk. Regardless, staying in Mt. Pleasant is not an inconvenience. After three stays at this particular hotel, I can tell you that the front desk was friendly (love the lemonade and cookies that greet you), the breakfast was perfectly acceptable and my room was exceptional on one stay and acceptable on the other two. Exceptional meant that everything was pristine, acceptable meant that although clean, there was evident "wear and tear". I had seen FAR worse at a 3 and 4star hotel stay from a previous trip. All things considered, I wish I had found this little gem long before she graduated, not the year she left!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Ple...
#11 of 22 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#14 of 22 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Address: 255 Sessions Way, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point hotel is located just across the Ravenel Bridge from historic Charleston, South Carolina. Patriots Point attractions are within walking distance from our hotel. Enjoy the USS Yorktown Aircraft Carrier, as well as a submarine and twenty-five other aircraft. Visit Fort Sumter, where the first shots of the Civil War were fired, as well as the Charleston Museum, the oldest museum in the United States. Enjoy your free hot breakfast as part of a great, relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston / Mt Pleasant - Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Hampton Inn Patriots Point
Hampton Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing