We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Product, OK Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Product, OK Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel (location, rooms, breakfast) are all good as advertised and reviewed. The only problems I had with my room is that the water would run brown a little first before turning clear and there was some paneling on the desk that was peeling off. The service, on the other hand was a bit of a let down. I had higher expectations after reading some of the reviews. The front desk and breakfast staff were not friendly though. I wonder if it was because of the Christmas holiday or if that's just how it is. They weren't rude, they just didn't go above and beyond to make you feel welcome (especially for guests having to be in a hotel on Christmas). I would stay here again though, if the price was right.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wkopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    235
    66
    26
    17
See reviews for
233
284
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at this Hampton Inn upon our return from a one-week trip. The highway immediately around the hotel has been under construction or what seems to be 5 years or more. Despite the road work, the Hampton Inn was a good experience. It was fairly easy to get in and out of the place. This Hampton location (as with most others that we have stayed in) was clean and well maintained. The staff were totally professional and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was adequate for starting the day off with although we would have both preferred a few more choice like hot biscuits, sausage patties, etc. Their scrambled eggs were not tasty at all. My wife and I both commented on how friendly everyone was around the place - both hotel employees and their guests. It made for a very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We finally hit the homerun! With a child at the College of Charleston, I made the trip to South Carolina multiple times every year. If I didn't need to collapse from exhaustion in Wild Dunes for a week or so, I was generally in the area for only a 2 night stay filled with endless shopping and running around for college "stuff"... this meant everything from Target to Gwynn's, KMart to King Street. Needless to say, little time was spent in the room. My goal on every trip was to find convenient, clean yet reasonable accomodations. I am sorry that I didn't find this Hampton Inn sooner. I literally stayed at over a dozen different places over four years, having made the trip multiple times per year. Public parking in downtown is well marked and inexpensive. It was easy for me to park my car and eat at S.N.O.B's or High Cotton or toward King you can use the lot at the Charleston Place to walk to Poogan's Porch or Husk. Regardless, staying in Mt. Pleasant is not an inconvenience. After three stays at this particular hotel, I can tell you that the front desk was friendly (love the lemonade and cookies that greet you), the breakfast was perfectly acceptable and my room was exceptional on one stay and acceptable on the other two. Exceptional meant that everything was pristine, acceptable meant that although clean, there was evident "wear and tear". I had seen FAR worse at a 3 and 4star hotel stay from a previous trip. All things considered, I wish I had found this little gem long before she graduated, not the year she left!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location is great and price even better compared to the hotels and B&B's across the river in downtown Charleston. Access to downtown is an easy trip across the Ravenel bridge. Otherwise it is pretty typical Hampton Inn (not a bad thing). Breakfast as you would expect at a Hampton - we only used it one morning as chose to explore other options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBuckeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I are moving to Mt. Pleasant so we are traveling there with some frequency and trying out different affordable hotels on each visit. This Hampton Inn-Patriots Point disappointed us. The lobby area and elevator were not particularly clean (sticky floors). The reception staff was noticeably unfriendly. Our room, while having a nice touch of a 'work wall' for easy plug-ins of our electronics, wasn't as clean as it could have been. The shower area is particularly mediocre with much worked needed on the grout. The location is great if you do not mind driving downtown for dinner. We did not eat breakfast here as it looked like it would be very crowded (unusual seating area with a very long table appropriate for 20 people).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here one night while visiting Charleston. The hotel is located outside of the city of Charleston, but it only takes less than ten minutes by car to get to downtown. To get from the hotel to the city, you cross the Cooper River Bridge, which itself is definitely worth seeing. The whole staff was very friendly and helpful. There was also a touch screen digital concierge named 'Charles' which you can use to research restaurants and other points of interest in the city of Charleston. It even prints out directions. Over all - we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriennewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Everything was just as you'd hope it would be at a Hampton Inn. Welcome was friendly, room was clean, good night's sleep, and the breakfast was...a typical Hampton Inn breakfast. No surprises, but that's what I'm looking for in a Hampton Inn.

The location is great, just a few minutes from the old city of Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swingspan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#13 of 22 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Ple...
#11 of 22 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Address: 255 Sessions Way, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point hotel is located just across the Ravenel Bridge from historic Charleston, South Carolina. Patriots Point attractions are within walking distance from our hotel. Enjoy the USS Yorktown Aircraft Carrier, as well as a submarine and twenty-five other aircraft. Visit Fort Sumter, where the first shots of the Civil War were fired, as well as the Charleston Museum, the oldest museum in the United States. Enjoy your free hot breakfast as part of a great, relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston / Mt Pleasant - Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Hampton Inn Patriots Point
Hampton Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing