We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Barking Dog-loud room-Great location & access.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Overall, we enjoyed the fine location, quality breakfast, and accessibility to Isle of Palms. I'd recommend that they keep big dogs (e.g. black labs) out of the lobby. On the way out, a large lab starting barking and charging at me. Luckily, I was able to avoid him. The owner finally engaged her brain and restrained him. It's a tad-bit annoying and potentially dangerous. Room had quite a bit of lent/dust around window frame - no problem, I gladly cleaned it but it does impact allergies. The room had an excessively loud AC system that would not shut off with the thermostat settings. I would manually turn it off at night - that worked out quite fine. Large over-head blower when you go out the front door is a little exasperating. Experienced a $35, per/nite increase the last night we were there. Thought, it was a bit much; however, I do understand weekend increases - $15, would have been more reasonable. Beds were "hugely comfortable."
On the upside, the hotel is close to freeway, fine restaurants and many beaches. Staff is gracious. Parking is excellent. Lobby is clean & inviting. Curb appeal is wonderful and they attempt to keep the entire property litter free which is great! Genuinely, liked the place!

Room Tip: Try to arrive about 90 minutes before check in. It gives you more options on room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fengtaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 958 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Check in was slow and not too friendly but things picked up. Morning food was not as good as most other Hamptons. Bedroom was quiet and was clean. We slept well after they adjusted our thermostat. Prior to the adjustment the room was too hot.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We left our b@b in downtown Charleston, but chose this Hampton as a cheaper option for our last day in the area. We also needed to find a laundromat.

This Hampton gave us good satisfaction!

PROS: pleasant and efficient welcome, clean room at the end of the hallway which turned into a super-quiet room and a replacement iron when the one in our room was defective.

CONS: small serving room for breakfast which turned many of the guests into greedy vultures. Or, maybe this was their regular behavior!

We left the next day. I wouldn't stay here if I was touring downtown Charleston, but it would be handy for Patriot's Point and for the very cool municipal park on the old bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway, away from the ice machine or elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Although it is convenient to a main road it is in a quiet loacation

You can walk to Patriots Point from the hotel, if you enjoy walking

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this Hampton Inn in Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina, beause we hate to throw our money into a room, that we basically just use for sleeping and bathing. During the day we're sightseeing, and with Hampton Inns you know what you're going to get. A clean well appointed room, with modern ameneties and a good hot breakfast in the mornings. The staff was very helpful, specially Cynthia at front desk. She was so nice to handle a request to cut our trip short by one day. The hotel even though not in historic downtown, was a 10 min. car ride from it. The only negative, was that the hotel was a bit tricky to get to, with the mapquest directions. But once you find it, it was not hard to get in & out every day. By the way, we enjoyed crossing the magnificent Ravele bridge to get to Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shearart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After bicycling 89 miles from Pawley's Island SC, we were greated by a very bubbly, smiling Latoya at this hotel. She was wonderful. We had made several special requests on our reservation, and she made sure we had everything we had requested. The lemonade and cookies in the lobby were great too. We highly recommend this property, especially if you are interested in the location close to Patriot's Point. The room was first class, spotless, and very quiet. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funhogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in early May. I liked the place, and although I'd stay again--it saved a good $100/night over staying in old Charleston, and is a quick drive to there--the staff were time and again polite but clueless most of the time. My right (dominant) shoulder was out of commission and in a sling due to a severe injury, so I stayed in a handicapped room so the handles could help me in the bathroom. After checking in, I asked the night front desk clerk if I should walk or drive to Patriots' Point. After all, "Patriots' Point" is in the name of his hotel. He suggested I walk there, saying "I think it's about a mile." That seemed rather far to walk in heat and humidity, especially with a sling on, so I asked if it was somewhat more or less than a mile, or if parking was expensive or difficult. He said he'd never been there before, so I thought I'd ask the morning clerk.
When I got to the room, the door was very stiff and hard to open. Also, the toilet was running continuously. Was the housekeeper stone-deaf that she couldn't have reported that? A repair was done promptly, although it was temporary. The next day I asked the clerk about going to Patriots' Point, and she had even less of an idea that the night clerk. I also asked if there was something they could do about the front door, especially since I was in a handicapped room. It was difficult enough for me, and I can't imagine that someone in a wheelchair could have opened that door. Nothing they could do about that. Interestingly, I overheard other guests complain about the stiff doors, so it's apparently a common complaint.
Fortunately, it didn't take long to find fellow guests at breakfast who'd taken the Patriots' Point ferry to Fort Sumter (start of the Civil War), and they advised me to drive and pay the $5 parking fee. Managers, please inform your staff that the distance, according to my GPS, is exactly 2.0 km or 1.25 mile, and that parking is $5 all day. I also asked the staff to look into a large red stain in the carpet next to the bed. The stain was neither removed nor otherwise later commented on. I would have been satisfied with a note such as "We were unsuccessful in removing this stain at this time. It doesn't appear to be blood, and we'll work on it with other equipment later."
Other than that, I actually enjoyed my stay here. Other than the stain next to the bed, the room was clean, roomy, and everything (but the toilet) worked fine. I would have preferred plastic to paper cups, but there was plenty of work space, and the internet connection was swift enough. Breakfasts were standard for Hampton Inns--filling, warm, well-replenished, although quite SYSCO-ish. The rooms were quiet and well-insulated from sounds from both other rooms and the hallway. I'm a light sleeper and didn't need earplugs.
When I checked out, they promptly had someone help me get my suitcase into the trunk of my car, which I couldn't do myself. I tipped $5. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for "low-maintenance" guests who want a quiet, comfortable place, and don't need much help from staff. Just be sure you have a strong right arm to open the front door!

Room Tip: No need to worry about which side your room is on. The hotel is on a very quiet street and all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
0.0 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#14 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point

Address: 255 Sessions Way, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#3 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#5 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $136 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point hotel is located just across the Ravenel Bridge from historic Charleston, South Carolina. Patriots Point attractions are within walking distance from our hotel. Enjoy the USS Yorktown Aircraft Carrier, as well as a submarine and twenty-five other aircraft. Visit Fort Sumter, where the first shots of the Civil War were fired, as well as the Charleston Museum, the oldest museum in the United States. Enjoy your free hot breakfast as part of a great, relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston / Mt Pleasant - Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Hampton Inn Patriots Point
Hampton Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing