We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our dinner! Great food and great service!”
Review of Red Drum

Red Drum
Ranked #28 of 340 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pherigo
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our dinner! Great food and great service!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a few days and took a chance on this place. Great food and service! A little loud inside as this is obviously a local hangout. Great place for adults who like good drinks and a band (who began playing at 9 p.m.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pootiecheechee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    70
    25
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine FL
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Took a business client and my wife here for dinner last week and we all really enjoyed our meals.

For dinner I started with a bowl of Tortilla soup (really good), followed by the pork chop for dinner. The chop was tender and one of the best I have had in a long time. My wife had the spicy shrimp and my client had the steak with fries. Everyone enjoyed the meal and it really was a nice night out. Almost forgot I passed on desert, but for takeout we had the chocolate cake, very tasty.

Note - Dinner with a nice bottle of wine and deserts $225.00.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service was good, food was good”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I received a gift card to this restaurant for Christmas. I must say that while the restaurant is nice, valet parking was convenient & quick, the service was excellent, but the food was just ok. For the price, I expected it to be top notch. Will probably return for happy hour and bar food, as they do have a great bar area and a different bar menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivoryschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went on a great recommendation from a top chef. Drinks were super, guys at the bar couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. Restaurant very noisy and packed. Clam appetizer was excellent, as was the shrimp cocktail ceviche. Enchiladas ala short ribs were very good, but only as good as a good Mexican restaurant. The bar had so many people at it they were standing 3-deep plus. A live band came in and they were fun. It is a good local place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ponysnooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of top recommended restaurants by the locals”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been there twice on business in the last three weeks. This is a happening place in Mt Pleasant/Charleston. Great selection of beers, bar is great. It seems to be a 30's to 40's group at the bar. The live music is great ambiance addition.
The food is great - first visit I had the salmon - fantastic he second visit I had the scallops they were ok nothing over the top fantastic. Service is very good and very attentive. Definite stop if your visiting or a local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Drum also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing