We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe we went in their worst night”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Drum

Red Drum
Ranked #26 of 327 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pherigo
SC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Maybe we went in their worst night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

But this place was awful.....my fig cosmo.....overpacked with sugar...i thought that was koolaid because i couldn´t taste the fig at all. The appetizer was not too bad, a special of shrimp with watermelon. But the quail and venison sausage....quail was extremely salty and burned, venison has a particular taste and this sausage was a regular andouille sausage. very dissapointed. My husband had a tiny, overcooked burger served with a mountain of french fries (which were not bad but for the price and the size of the hamburger, you would expect less fries and more hamburger). The dessert was delicious but it was prepared by wild flour pastry so kudos to them not to red drum. On the other hand our waiter was excellent, he used to work in Tristan which is an excellent upscale restaurant so he recognized us immediately. Good job. sadly the food experience was not great and was priced as if it were an upscale restaurant. Not coming back to this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Auremil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    68
    22
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I thought the menu selections were a bit short: not lots of choices. Also, more expensive than I thought: $30+ for a steak. For the price, I'd favor any number of other spots. Waiter, a fellow from Dublin: nice, but obvious that he was in a hurry, didn't have time to converse with patrons or otherwise make them feel special. He needed to understand that one of the reasons people dine out is to interact with others, including the staff. All in all, I know the other offerings in the area, I'll chose some other, better spot next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great food, upbeat atmosphere, plenty of waitstaff. Good service and food from friendly people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank askmissamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Valet parking is terrific!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Food was excellent!

Would have liked to see more dessert choices!

We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Mount Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have eaten hear many times while visiting the area. Every meal has been very good. Be sure to try their ceviche and be sure to try their margarita. I do have to admit I almost always order the fish entree. It is excellent. The steak is also a favorite. One of our group did order the enchiladas and they were not up to the quality of the rest of the dinners. The restaurant is a little hectic every time we eat there. Service could be better, calmer, even though servers nice. They are very busy so we usually have a wait even though we made reservations. There really aren't that many nice restaurants in Mount Pleasant so that could make for a very busy and hectic Red Drum.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Drum also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing