We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inappropriate behavior of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inappropriate behavior of staff”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over Christmas. A heavy set white haired man who seemed to be the manager was roaming around the lobby and dining room every day when we were there. He was very loud and made multiple inappropriate remarks that we just couldn't believe we were hearing--political comments, religious pronouncements etc. He seemed to think that everyone agreed with him (or should). He tried to be funny but he wasn't. What we expect in a hotel is service, not loud harangues. Our room was adequate but not very clean. The towels were worn, thin, and gray and should have been replaced long ago. The dresser drawers were broken. The dining room floor looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in days. Staffing may have been thin over the holiday, but Marriott should deliver better services or take its name off the building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 634caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Courtyard Mt. Pleasant. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the entire staff for your less than perfect stay. I wanted to take this opportunity to assure you that the person you mentioned does not work for our hotel or Marriott International and was simply a guest at our hotel. He is no longer staying here.

If you have any questions or would like to speak to me further regarding your visit, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Most Kind Regards,
Ashley Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    129
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
99
104
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while our boat, which we live on was hauled. When we worked in the height of our business we were Platinum members of Marriott Rewards. Needless to say, I've stayed in hundreds of Courtyards. This one is different. It has local ownership and operation. Oriental rugs, fireplaces, plantation furniture ... feels and looks like a full service Marriott. Bar in the sitting room and small restaurant for breakfast. Great service. Comfortable room. Not set up like the new Courtyards but a great stay nonetheless. Lots of very good places to eat within 1.5 miles range.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding Courtyard by Marriott Mt. Pleasant. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. On behalf of the entire staff, please visit again when you can.

Kindest Regards,
Ashley Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The service is great,with the staff always being helpful. The rooms are very nice . . . clean and nicely decorated. The hotel in general is charming and very reflective of that Charleston spirit. The breakfast buffet is always excellent! Finally, the location is really good, with easy access to the freeway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Clean, well appointed rooms and courteous staff. Didn't use any of the amenities but the bar, restaurant and pool all looked nice and well maintained. Good dining and shopping nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Mt. Pleasant does not really have a full service hotel So we chose this one. The location is excellent for us...near Family. But you can get downtown in 10 Mins, to the Beach in about the same and basic shopping is very close. This stay was our first here, and it was for a family funeral so we actually came down with no reservations, we figured to stay a night and see how things were going, well the family houses were full and I was not happy to find the Marriott Courtyard f was fully booked the next night. The manager told me she would see what she could do, they had a room open up ( weekend was a college homecoming so we got lucky) we got a call and came back ending up there for 10 days. Quiet, easy parking, very friendly breakfast staff...exactly what we needed under the circumstances. Hotel is well decorated and maintained. This will be our home when we visit from now on (being a gay couple we often prefer hotels when visiting family....we need our space and the grandparents have first call on the guest room. We have re-booked here for Christmas.

Room Tip: Stay away from 1st floors due to security lights, best to be on the South Wing as that is where Laun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlerRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for an excellent hotel with first class staff and service then stay at the Courtyard in Mt Pleasant. My husband and I decided to stay here for an extended period of time while moving to Charleston and I honestly can't say enough about the exceptional service and staff at this hotel. The hotel itself is lovely and the entire staff has been far and above the best ever. The hotel is perfectly located - just 10 minutes to downtown Charleston or to the Isle of Palms with numerous good restaurants nearby. We did not experience any noise problems at all (and we've actuallly stayed in 3 different rooms on different floors). My husband is a platinum Marriott member and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool or the spacious two-room su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was clean and pleasant with a great swimming pool. You can get a beer at happy hour and the beds ae comfortable and clean. I was a little surprised that breakfast was not included as with most of the Marriot brand, but a refrigerator and coffee pot were in the room.

The ffront desk staff were awesome in helping us find a good restaurant and even gave us coupons for a free dessert at one of the local places on Shem Creek.

All-in-all a good place to stay. I'd go back.

Room Tip: A good, resonable place to stay when traveling on business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant

Property: Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Address: 1251 Woodland Ave, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-3288
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#8 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott, Mt. Pleasant's newest hotel provides a sanctuary for guests. Offering luxurious bedding, 32 inch flat screen televisions with connectivity panels and state of the art meeting facilities. Featuring a library and lobby bar with a charming courtyard, pool and fire pit. Convenient to historic downtown, beaches, shopping and golf. Courtyard, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Charleston Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Marriott
Mount Pleasant Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing