We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous French has returned to Charleston/Mt. Pleasant”
Review of BOUGNAT - CLOSED

BOUGNAT
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous French has returned to Charleston/Mt. Pleasant”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Several years ago, Coco's cafe closed, and Charleston/Mt Pleasant lost one of the best, if not the best authentic French restaurant in town. Imagine my surprise when I walked into Bougnat, the "new" French restaurant, in Mt Pleasant, and was greeted by the same Waitresses who had been at Coco's. That was not where the similarity ended. The food was the same exceptional authentic French cooking, with a similar menu, albeit with a different Chef. It was like meeting old friends again. Everything we tried on the menu was exceptional, and we can wait to return to taste more! The wine list was not large, but had a nice variety of good, reasonably priced wines.
If you are looking for fabulous authentic french, Bougnat is a must .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely French Restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This location is not known for keeping restaurants around. I REALLY hope these folks can stay. The food was outstanding, it's a small restaurant therefore the noise level is absolutely great, you don't have to shout to be heard. This was just my wife and I so we didn't sample much but it was all outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl_MTPSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An excellent French Restaurant tucked into a small shopping center”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

A fine dining experience. Our server, Christina, was very helpful. Our party shared a cheese plate, country pate and a goat cheese torte, all delicious. I had horseradish encrusted Scottish salmon. Friends had the duck and tornados of beef. All perfectly prepared. My wife had the coq au vin which was falling off the bone excellent. A bit pricy and the wine selection was small. The rose champagne is not really dry, but an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Turtlemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
747 reviews
583 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“French excellence ”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Bougnat is a great discovery for those who appreciate real French cuisine. Warm and inviting venue with gracious service. Amazing appetizers including Country terrine, assorted cheeses and potato goat cheese tart. Don't fill up on the delicious and fresh homemade bread. Entrees we enjoyed include coq au vin, tournedos of beef, breast of duck and Scottish salmon. Didn't save room for dessert - next time!

Helpful?
2 Thank RMGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New well kept secret”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a charming little place. Recommended by our friends we were not disappointed. Loved the Mussels Marinieres in a light garlic cream sauce. I had the short ribs, they were just out of this world. My husband had the escargots in their traditional garlic butter and topped with a crouton and the Coq au Vin in a wonderful red wine sauce as it is suppose to be. We definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Etienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BOUGNAT also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing