We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gypsy”

Crabpot Players Theater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crabpot Players Theatre is Mount Pleasant's only professional performing arts venue! We are centrally located on Johnnie Dodds Boulevard adjacent to the Bowman Road overpass. Free parking is always available to our patrons. This beautiful facility boasts a large lobby with abundant natural lighting, a full bar, and comfortable seating. The professionally designed theatre seats over 100 people. In addition to producing a full mainstage theatre season, we are happy to offer this space as a rental option for other performing arts groups, corporate gatherings, and special events!
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gypsy”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We don't attend a great deal of theater, but after seeing the production of Gypsy, we look forward to seeing what's next!!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer Mons S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Operations Manager at Crabpot Players Theater, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Jennifer, Thank you for your kind words! Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Well done, Crabpot!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Having just moved to Mount Pleasant, I was excited at the opening of the Crabpot Theater. I attended a ballet and musical there recently and both productions were highly entertaining. The theater is small and quaint, and has a nice bar in the lobby. Seating is open so I recommend arriving early. I sincerely hope that this little gem will remain here in Mount Pleasant for a very long time.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Operations Manager at Crabpot Players Theater, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Michele, I appreciate your kind words and am glad that you enjoyed our recent performances! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Joffrey Ballet performance”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The acoustics were terrible. The industrial look may be in, but it does not make for good acoustics. Davis Robertson of the Joffrey talked too much (and without a microphone), both at the beginning of the show and before each number.

It was very nice to be offered a complimentary beverage before the show.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Operations Manager at Crabpot Players Theater, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Judy, I appreciate you passing along your concerns from the Joffrey Ballet Concert Group performance. Although I cannot speak for the actual programming of this particular event, I did want to address the acoustics. As a small community theatre, we are restricted by several factors (such as building height) that prevent us from installing acoustical panels or a dropped-in ceiling in the theatre that might allow sound to travel more consistently throughout the building. Since the Joffrey performance, we have made adjustments to the sound systems and installed two different microphone systems with direct lines to the stage. I hope that you will visit us again as we pride ourselves in producing professional shows for our patrons each season. If you would like to share additional concerns or specific suggestions, please feel free to email me or call the theatre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Jeoffrey ballet”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a lovely new theater space conveniently located in Mount Pleasant. Parking is convenient as is the location on the frontage road of 17 north. They serve wine and the people who own and work there are so nice. The performances of the dancers were superb! They'll be back again and you won't want to miss it. Don't be put off if you're not a "ballet aficionado" because the new ballet is very current and exciting, not a lot of tutus. I can't wait to go back again to see live theater! We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Marilynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Operations Manager at Crabpot Players Theater, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Marilynne, I am happy to read that you enjoyed the Joffrey Ballet Concert Group performance! We are excited to call Mount Pleasant our home and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
“Local Theater”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Crabpot Players new venue is a work in progress. We attended on a rainy night and the roof had several leak problems. The large lobby hosts a bar. Ladies bathroom, equipped with several commodes, lacked stalls for privacy. All that being said, the performance was well done and the actors were very entertaining and professional. We enjoyed the production and highly recommend the theatrical group.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 127sue_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Operations Manager at Crabpot Players Theater, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Sue, We are so glad that you enjoyed the show and thank you for supporting us during our first production run! We had some sealant issues around our AC units which are now resolved and (at long last) have stalls in the women's restroom. Nothing intentional there, just a matter of timing in receiving the equipment. :) Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabpot Players Theater also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Crabpot Players Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing