We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Had never heard of him.

I love history. Mostly Civil War era history and I had not heard of Charles Pinckney. It was a... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2018
Ronald M
via mobile
Three Teachers .

We really enjoyed our visit. There is plenty of information to read and there is a trail to walk as... read more

Reviewed June 26, 2018
alewis1
,
Pittsburg, Kansas
via mobile
Read all 258 reviews
  
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
85
112
52
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
112
52
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park ranger declaration of independence his life south carolina boone hall plantation the junior ranger program walking trails early american history short trail small museum long point short video farm house picnic area visitor center well worth the visit beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 253 reviews
Reviewed today

Having visited Ft. Moultrie and Ft. Sumter, I wanted to see the other National Park site in the area. The two videos with which I started the visit were informative, and the rangers were very helpful and accommodating - including walking me out onto the grounds to be sure I found a marker that was shown in one of the videos.

Thank 942lindseyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Our family loves visiting National Park Service sites including lesser known obscure ones. It would be hard to be more obscure than the Charles Pinckney National Historical Site in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. The park celebrates the life of Charles Pinckney who authored parts of the United States Constitution and is one of the original signers of the document. He also had a very long and distinguished career in South Carolina politics.

We mainly came to Mount Pleasant to tour Boone Hall Plantation but chose Boone Hall over other plantations in part due to its proximity to the NHS. The entrances are basically across the street from each other. The park is set on 28 acres of what is left of Snee Farm, the country estate of the Pinckney family. Admission to the site is free. The house currently there was built after the Pinckney family sold the property and is used as the visitor center. There is a short (around 20 minutes?) film that is shown on demand and gives insight into the life of Charles Pinckney and the history of Snee Farm. The other rooms in the house have various displays that further tell the story of the site.

We printed off the junior ranger booklet before arriving and completed most of it in our hotel room. This gave us a little more of an idea about the site before visiting and also ensured we didn’t have to spend so much of our time there working on the booklet. There isn’t a lot to see and do at the site. If you took your time and read every display, watched the film and walked the trail you would still be hard pressed to spend 2 hours here. We really enjoyed our visit and are glad we stopped at Charles Pinckney National Historic Site.

Thank GoVols79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We were running low on time but wanted to get a plantation tour in our mini-vacation. We found the Charles Pinckney plantation with a self-guided exterior tour and inside short video and info from the ranger. We spent maybe an hour in total and it was nice to find out more about one of the signers of our constitution.

Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

I love history. Mostly Civil War era history and I had not heard of Charles Pinckney. It was a great look at this family. A very colorful family. Worth an hour of your time if you're nearby.

Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

This place is a hidden gem. So much history involving this site. It makes you understand what Mount Pleasant and Charleston was all about durning the 1700's. There is no cost which makes it even better.

Thank MTPgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Lots of history at this place also. great house and gravesite. and just a beautiful place to visit and find out history of Charles Pickney

Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

Very informative & in a beautiful location. None of the original Pinckney structures are still standing, but there are outlines of where they use to be. There’s a lot of historical information inside the house & a video I would recommend watching. It’s a beautiful & relaxing site.

Thank rtoptngirl276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Worth a quick look if you are in the area. Nice old house owned by a signer of the Declaration. A few displays. No furniture. Free

Thank Questdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit. There is plenty of information to read and there is a trail to walk as well.

Thank alewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018

There is some information here in the house and along the path outside. The grounds are kept well and the rangers are nice. There is a JR Ranger program here for kids. There are a couple brief movies to watch to learn more. There are artifacts in the house that were excavated on site. It is nice to come here the same day you go to Boone Hall as it is right there.

Thank Terirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews