We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love those fries!”
Review of Jack's Cosmic Dogs

Jack's Cosmic Dogs
Ranked #26 of 337 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love those fries!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm a sucker for a place with fresh cut fries so this was a must. The hot dogs were very good and I liked the hoagie roll instead of a hot dog bun. It worked great to keep all of the toppings inside. I had the Blue Galactic Dog with chili, cheese, blue cheese slaw, and sweet potato mustard. It was good, but I probably should have started a little lower. It was a bit much for my first time and all of the flavors blended together. The fries were the highlight for me. My husband and I split a large order but we probably should have gotten a basket. They were that good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CNoble08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    97
    37
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dont bother with this place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Okay, we saw some great reviews on this place, and for the life of me I have no idea why. These are VERY basic hotdogs, not larger in size and at 2.95 a pop, I think they are pricey. The toppings arent anything impressive ( even if they call them cool names) and neither my husbands or my hotdog was even remotely warm. The french fries are fresh cut and are very good. However, I went expecting the hotdogs to be exceptional, and they were below average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reneesmail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Must for Visitors/ A Staple for Locals”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Jack is a real person who can take the ordinary and apply a little imagination to make it extraordinary. Rookies order a Cosmic Dog, fries, and soft serve custard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMPofCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Jack's is one of the best hot dog places I've ever been. Just get the Cosmic Dog and enjoy. Cool atmosphere and great food. Crowded at lunch, but with good reason. They have something to make everyone happy - even a vegetarian option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJDittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dogs in Charleston, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've been stopping at Jack's Cosmic Dogs for probably a decade. Tasty dogs, fun retro 60's atmosphere. Ms. Pacman and Gallaga video games are a plus. It's not a fancy place and the seating probably holds 75 and if you arrive during lunch hour be prepared to sit outside or get it to go as Jack's gets pretty crowded. The dogs can be plain or with a toppings such as blue cheese slaw, spicy mustard (it IS spicy) homemade chili. The milkshakes are good and there are even a few options for vegetarians. For a break from the beach, hit Jack's then head over to Blackbeard's Cove for some go-carts and mini-golf. Great for the kids.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilliamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Cosmic Dogs also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Jack's Cosmic Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing