We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Village Post House Inn

Old Village Post House Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Village Post House Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Venning
Description: Two stylishly comfortable private dining rooms, tasty food, drink and hospitality: all in Mount Pleasant's treasured Old Village.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great place to experience great dining
Went with a group and did not have choice of all selections
The Atlantic salmon was perfect
And the service was outstanding
A must try place

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodeatininSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    79
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely location in Old Mount Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Lovely converted old house and terrance, excellent menu and food. Mediocre service.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This charming old inn is a lovely place to dine away from downtown Charleston. We were staying at the nearby Charleston Harbor Resort and this was a short drive away. The menu has some interesting items and features old southern classics updated nicely. Wonderful she crab soup and crab cakes. The bread pudding dessert looked fabulous but, alas, I was never offered even a small taste!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“After brunch here, nothing could compare the rest of the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My mom and I quietly moaned with our first bites of brunch, and nothing we ate the rest of the day could compare. That night we still kept coming back to how wonderful brunch was.

We had the roasted beet salad with was light, refreshing and earthy - loved it! Then we split the Croque Madame that was perfectly crispy on the outside, gooey on the inside, and the French Toast that I could never re-create at home. It was so fluffy yet custardy in the middle - just wonderful!

Serve was impeccable! I could see where some would find it a bit "stuffy", but I think that comes from the other diners because the staff was very friendly and inviting from the moment we stepped in the door.

The neighborhood is perfect for a stroll after you eat - the houses are old, grand and beautiful. There are a couple shops next door that had neat & whimsical items. It all made for a perfect start to our mother/daughter day.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mandu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great restaurant in a great historic neighborhood, just across the bridge from Charleston. The pan roasted chicken was the best/juiciest chicken I've ever had. My wife had the special, a broiled mahi mahi entree. It was excellent!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Village Post House Inn also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Village Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing