We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal!”

Old Village Post House Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Village Post House Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 340 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Venning
Description: Two stylishly comfortable private dining rooms, tasty food, drink and hospitality: all in Mount Pleasant's treasured Old Village.
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Sat outside for dinner. First time outside on the patio. Added to the evening and the meal. As usual the food was great. Even the hamburger my son ordered. Still think OVPH one of the best in Charleston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    87
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. It was WONDERFUL! We did not have a reservation, it was a Tuesday night, we were immediately seated in the tavern. It was very comfortable, despite the fact that we were seated directly across from the bar.
The service was terrific, attentive but not hovering. Our waiter was there when we needed him.
The food was great. I had the shrimp and grits, it was without a doubt, the best I've ever had. My husband had pork tenderloin which was also very good.
I can recommend this restaurant without hesitation. Try it, you won't be disappointed,

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxcat1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Try the happy hour menu items”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We tried the happy hour menu for dinner. Oyster appetizer and a burger with fries. The food was very good and the service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach80126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always surprised”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Dined at the Old Village Post House over Memorial Day weekend. We are never disappointed when visiting this restaurant. Intimate setting in the downstairs dining area with views into the kitchen. Menu changes frequently but all the dishes are outstanding. Service is consistent from the time you walk in the door. Called ahead and asked if the had a corkage policy which they did although not publicized. My wife and I think the Old Post House is one of the best restaurants in the Charleston area. It does not get the publicity it deserves.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hide the salt shaker”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Old Village Post House is in a great location with a nice view. The inside is warm and cozy but I imagine it could be quite noisy with tables packed close together and an open window to the kitchen. Fortunately, only three tables were occupied the evening we were there. Our waitress was friendly and quite knowledgeable about the food and wine selections. This could have been a great dining experience if someone had hidden the salt shaker from the chef. Both the crab bisque and spring vegetable/white bean soup were so salty it was difficult to taste either the crab or the garden fresh vegetables. Quality fish, especially from the coast, should speak for itself. Unfortunately, both the lump crab cakes and the pan roasted halibut were grosely overseasoned. The chef would do well to remember that salt can always be added at the table. A slice of lemon chiffon pie was delicious - light, tangy and generous.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardshell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Village Post House Inn also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Village Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing