We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just have to say you've been there!”
Review of Red's Ice House

Red's Ice House
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You just have to say you've been there!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Their food is really good....the location is tops on the creek....lots of people go there to drink....and that's okay! It is NOT a quiet place...so there with the right attitude!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    405
    232
    72
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Low Country Boil”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We asked one of our tour guides where we could get a low country boil. This is where we landed and we were not sorry. It is right on the water, very casual and a bit noisey even though we got there early in the evening around 5pm. The service was fast and friendly, and the food was tasty. I had immagined the low country boil being served in a big pot in the center of the table, but it was served in individual bowls instead which was fine. We all had plenty to eat, but it was not the gut busting low country boil that the men in our party had envisioned! The prices are reasonable and I would recommend this for family and friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFP1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Tues at 8 saw dolphins and passing out 20 yr olds.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went with family of six. Only two tables outside could hold more than four. Decided not to wait since the kids already saw the dolphins off the dock. Ate inside at a table next to the band. I had the fish tacos. They tasted great but didn't have much in them. I ended up putting all the filling of the 1 st. Taco into the second to make an average size taco. Kids had shrip kabobs and fish sticks. They really liked their food. The server was fast and great at making sure we had what we needed. She was very quiet and not very outgoing, but efficient. Pretty sure she over charged us for our appetizer. The major down side as a family restaurant is the other people sitting around us. Guys hitting on the waitresses, old drunk guys singing behind us, and the young lady literally passing out and falling off her chair onto the floor. This was Tuesday night at 8! Ambulance was called! Maybe it was sun stroke and not drunkenness, but either way hard to explain to the kiddos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apk028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“average food, rude bartenders, beautiful scenery”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We met friends here for drinks as they finished eating a Saturday night supper. The entire family said their food was ok, not good, not bad. Service on the patio was good until their dinner plates were cleared, then we had to go to the bar to order our drinks. 3 male bartenders behind the bar and each time we had to stand at the bar for 10-15 minutes before being waited on. It wouldn't have been bad if they would've acknowledged us or something. It was just plain rude. I have waited tables and bartended myself, and there is no excuse, it wasn't super crowded, there were 3 of them, I don't think I will be going back, but if you are looking for a place to hang with a group of friends, drinks, and music you may want to try it for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reds”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very Good Food, right on Shem Creek. Great Location. Service can be a little fast so try to make them slow down. Don't miss the dolphins right outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Ice House also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red's Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing