We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not on Sunday evening?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr - CLOSED

Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe not on Sunday evening?”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We always have a good meal here. Though, maybe we will not go on Sunday evening again. The food was very good, but I really enjoy their specials, which are usually fresh fish dishes. Did not get that on Sunday. However, the waiter was fantastic and everyone enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    51
    19
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
277 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Go-to Gumbo”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

One of the things we learned on our recent trip to the Low Country was that much of the cuisine we recognize as "Southern"--including items such as fried chicken, stewed okra, watermelon--were borrowed from the Gullah/Geechee slave population who brought them, in addition to their knowledge of how to cultivate rice, from their native West Africa, Many of the house servants in colonial times were the kitchen staff who cooked and seasoned meals in their traditional ways. Over time the Gullah foods became adopted as the regional cuisine of the South.

The Gullah culture, including food, has experienced a renaissance in recent years. This has coincided with all the burgeoning interest in local foods and regional traditions. Even a simple place like Martha Lou's in Charleston has been visited by all the network food gurus, Thus, it is not surprising that the Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Restaurant in tony Mount Pleasant has glowing reviews from the likes of the New York Times posted on its wall.

We sampled the okra gumbo, a spicy and tasty combination of shrimp, chicken, and smoked sausage, and the seafood gumbo, loaded with chunks of fish and local shellfish. I had expected both to be variations on a common base sauce, but was delighted to find that they were entirely different recipes.

Based on these two items, this restaurant would merit five stars. Unfortunately, the rest of the meal fell into a lesser category. The restaurant concept seems confused. Is it trying to be uptown or down home? There was an unpleasant odor, and the wait staff, while polite, were very inefficient. Our salads and cornbread were not delivered until we involved the manager, after several abortive requests (to her credit, she took care of everything). Diners who were seated before us were still unserved when we left.

These things dragged down the rating, but don't that stop you from giving this place a try. We've heard that their Gullah rice is outstanding, and we're willing to endure a few minor annoyances to give it a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StepMorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good road food”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent crab cake sandwich, very fine oyster po’ boy. Clean and well-lit. Lots of locals eating lunch, always a good sign. Service was good, even when the waitress teased us about drinking unsweetened tea -- “you all are definitely not from around here!” Right on Highway 17 North, easier to get to the restaurant on your way out of Charleston than into the city, but worth finding. Prices are fair and reasonable. Very affordable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Fine Gullah Cuisine”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food was wonderful (try the amazing Gullah Rice!) The service was perfect. The only criticism I found, was that the Mac n Cheese was a tiny bit too greasy and needed a tiny bit more seasoning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ltbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cultural immersion”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a lucky find -- just happened upon it on our way to Florida along Route 17. While it's unimposing from the street, the inside is clean and airy with gleaming wood floors, plenty of space between tables, and colorful Gullah art on the walls. We greatly enjoyed the okra gumbo with its deep, rich "gravy," a silky she-crab soup with plenty of crab meat, and shrimp and grits -- all yummy. But best of all was Miss Charlotte's collards, flavored with her special blend of spices (and, surprisingly, no pork) -- the collards were sweet without being sweet, hard to explain, but they were the best collards I've ever tasted. Wish we'd had room for a slice of coconut cake or pecan pie. Service was gracious, and the place is full of Gullah artifacts, including their beautiful sweet grass baskets.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muckinabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing