We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for the price”
Review of Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr - CLOSED

Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the afternoon but were still able to try out the buffet. The seafood gumbo was delish and the collard greens were excellent. Not five star dining but if you stop here on your way through town you won't leave hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meelieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    51
    19
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The best authentic southern food (At the cheapest price) we ate in our entire trip to the South!!

We ate at Jestines Kitchen the day before so that was our comparison standard, well lets just say that Gullah Food was far far superior, the fried chicken was tender and juicy (and they cooked it fresh in small batches so it was always hot), the collards delicious, the okra gumbo and rice were good too and the peach cobbler was amazing.

Its a buffet so there is lots available but we stuck with the basics and were very happy.

The owner, her daughter and the serving staff were so hospitable and welcoming, a great experience.

This is a HIGHLY RECOMMENDED stop when in Charleston.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SafariBwana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
“Service was terrible”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a party of 8 and the service was terrible. Our waiter was lazy, didn't care and told us he was ready to leave. It took an hour to get our food and the only half our party got their food and was almost finished before the rest of us were served our food. The red rice and macaroni and cheese were dry. Even though the Manger/Owner removed my meal I wouldn’t go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraWilliams65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Feel Good Food”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We came for the lunch buffet. From fried chicken to collard greens to gullah rice, we felt at home eating these comfort food dishes. If somebody made me pick my favorite, it would be the magical corn bread. I bought their cookbook just for this recipe...of coarse Ice tea was our beverage and we left satisfied and hopeful to return again. We will be back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been going to Charleston for medical issues (none serious but several trips) and always look for Tripadvisor place to eat. This one is right up there as a great experience. The food is all cooked at the restaurant and we had the lunch buffet. It was Gullah food so it was simple but all wonderful. The buffet did not have a ton of items but all they had was "time to go back for more" They have a regular menu also. The buffet included baked and fried chicken, bar-b-que pork and chicken, several kinds of rice, mac and cheese, yams, cabbage, greens and soup. I may have missed a few but all was good. Only two deserts -- homemade banana pudding and homemade bread pudding -- what else do you need!. The server was very friendly and helpful. My wife saw a special on chocolate cake as we were leaving so we got two to go and they where also very good later in the evening. We are going back to Charleston is two weeks and will stop again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing