We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern BBQ at its best”
Review of Melvin's BBQ

Melvin's BBQ
Ranked #27 of 338 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: A South Carolina tradition since 1939, Melvin Bessinger's Bar-B-Q Restaurants are beloved and famous for our St. Louis style pork ribs, chicken and "Best BBQ in Charleston". But don't take our word for it, come on down and experience the flavor at one of two locations, in Mt. Pleasant and James Island. Thank you for your continued support, y'all!
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ at its best”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lost count of how many times we have been to Melvins. They have great pork and pulled chicken, all of the sides are tasty and it is just the kind of place to enjoy good southern Q. Especially like the "golden secret sauce" on my sandwich. The folks who work here are friendly, helpful and patient. The atmosphere is clean and uber casual - just right for eating BBQ. Closed on Sundays, so pick up on Saturday and refrigerate for Sunday game days!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    98
    35
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Cheeseburger I've Ever Eaten! Love This Place!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Melvin's is and has been a Charleston and a South Carolina institution for decades and it honestly just keeps getting better and better. My only complaint is that they don't have a location in the Glenn McConnell Parkway/Bee's Ferry Road area of West Ashley (where we desperately need restaurants) so that I don't have to drive to Mount Pleasant or James Island to enjoy their food. If you have any doubts about their restaurants, just visit at lunch or dinner and take note of the cars wrapped around the building at the drive-thru window and the packed dining room. Even with the crowds, the staff and management at Melvin's always do a great job to ensure that the lines move quickly. I have eaten at the Mt. Pleasant location (drive-thru) twice in the past two weeks and was very much impressed at the speed, accuracy of the order and also how very polite the person was at the window. When I said thank you, I was told "it was my pleasure" unlike at a recent experience at another fast food restaurant where the food was simply shoved out the window at me and not a word uttered. It's obvious that Melvin's does a great job of training its staff. The food is to die for, from the BBQ to the most delicious cheeseburger I've ever eaten - with REAL meat, decent fresh lettuce and tomatoes and tasty red onions. I also like the fact that one has an option of cheeses available. The giant onion rings and deliciously seasoned steak fries are very flavorful and not greasy but instead crispy and prepared correctly. Melvin's has recently renovated the exterior and interior of their restaurants and they are always extremely clean and very attractive, from the beautiful exterior landscaping and seasonal flowers to the well-maintained facilities. The Bessinger family is to be commended for really stepping up their game and not letting quality slide over the years despite their restaurants' immense popularity. I also love the fact that FRESH and delicious home cooked sides including vegetables are available - at a fast food restaurant! No wonder Chef Emeril Legasse named Melvin's burger the best cheeseburger in America. Again, I implore you to PLEASE consider building a restaurant in the woefully underserved Glenn McConnell Parkway area of West Ashley! If you build it, we will come - in droves!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mas11068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Down Home Goodness!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are a bbq person, you have to eat here. The sandwiches and baskets are stupendous. The chocolate cake dessert is even out of this world. Any burger or bbq sandwich is an excellent choice. You must experience the onion rings!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drivenboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mover4u
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large portion/great food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went in and enjoyed a BBQ sandwich and Fries..nothing fancy, but good stuff...had to get a "to go box"..great portion size...enjoyed every bite

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mover4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mmmm Southern BBQ”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love Melvin's. We eat here every time we stay in Charleston. Great South Carolina BBQ. Good location just across the bridge and close to Patriots Point. A must eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melvin's BBQ also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Melvin's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing