We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by the price, taste and quality”
Review of Melvin's BBQ

Melvin's BBQ
Ranked #29 of 333 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: A South Carolina tradition since 1939, Melvin Bessinger's Bar-B-Q Restaurants are beloved and famous for our St. Louis style pork ribs, chicken and "Best BBQ in Charleston". But don't take our word for it, come on down and experience the flavor at one of two locations, in Mt. Pleasant and James Island. Thank you for your continued support, y'all!
California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Impressed by the price, taste and quality”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just good, simple, inexpensively priced fast food. You won't go away hungry. We happened on to this place while on our way into Charleston for our vacation. This beats any chain operation on the highway and is worth a stop. Try it, you'll probably like it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troutbum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    98
    34
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We love to visit barbeque restaurants whenenver we travel, and decided to visit Melvin's while in the Charleston area. My husband had the ribs and I tried the pulled pork. We would give a thumbs up to the meat, but only felt so-so about the onion rings. I have no doubt that some patrons come in as much for the o rings as the bbq, but we wished that we had known ahead of time that they are more about the breading than about the onion. Yes, they are gigantic, because it is basically like you sunk a ring of onion in a donut. We prefer a crispy coating that compliments the onion, but like so many things, there are many versions out there, not necessarily right or wrong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue meal”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

You can't travel to the south without stopping in at one of the barbecue places. This one was our choice. You order your food at the counter and they call your number and you pick it up. The food was excellent and they had four different barbecue sauces you could try....their big one being their sweet mustard. Everything was we had was great. The place is a bit chaotic and noisy, but we were there at a very busy time. I highly recommend the food here and they even have a drive thru.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnatus, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great value and fast!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here based on other reviews and enjoyed an excellent meal at a great price. The atmosphere is really casual. We placed our order at the counter and our food was ready in 5-10 minutes. I had the chopped pork with mac-n-cheese and sweet potato souffle. My husband had the brisket with baked beans and cole slaw. The meats were very tender and flavorful. The sides were delicious. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old South BBQ food!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Melvin's has been a popular local cuisine for years and years. The BBq sauce is mustard base but also very sweet. Must try the hash!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank citysplitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melvin's BBQ also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Melvin's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing