We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but fish camp food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shem Creek Bar & Grill

Shem Creek Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Shem Creek Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 324 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views but fish camp food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is. And this place has special memories for me with many memories if beer and local music on the water at the dock bar.

This is a local dive with decent average food. Owner goes way back in local history and has photos with jimmy Buffett and others.

Great views of shem creek marsh

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCFlyFisher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreek B, Guest Relations Manager at Shem Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Shem Creek Bar and Grill. We are so thankful you have great memories of the dock bar with live music and drinking beer. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we hope to have you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    268
    152
    96
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LOVE their happy hour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent location, very scenic views, beautifully scenic outdoor dining option, really good seafood, nicely plated foods, very good prices, attentive and friendly staff. My favorite is in the back of the restaurant for happy hour which offers one of my absolute FAVORITES... oyster shooters for only a dollar each. They are shucked and made fresh as you sit there. This place is always on our list for a visit! LOVE it and definitely plan to continue to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreek B, Guest Relations Manager at Shem Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at the Shem Creek Bar & Grill! We are truly delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your unique waterfront ambiance as well as our awesome seafood! Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went here for the third time and as usual It was great. We were seated quickly and our waitress Natalie was very friendly and seemed to know the menu . Service was quick. I had the prime rib and crab cake which was cooked to perfection. My wife had the scallops and she was well pleased with her food . The only complaint if any would be the garden side salad could use a little more stuff on it with cheese but the dressing that came with it was very good. We will be going back when in town again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rapom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreek B, Guest Relations Manager at Shem Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Shem Creek Bar and Grill! We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your dining experience with us! We greatly appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice ambience & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stopped by for dinner and ate on the deck. We had filet mignon with mashed potatoes and veggies, oysters Rockefeller, stuffed flounder and cocktails. It was a nice evening!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreek B, Guest Relations Manager at Shem Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at the Shem Creek Bar & Grill! We are delighted that you enjoyed all your dishes with us. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
192 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good seafood on the water.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The seafood is local caught, fresh and tasty. I had a po'boy with fried oysters that was as good as I've had. My wife raved about the crab stew / chowder. This is as authentic as you can get both in local color and food.
I saw the chef picking fresh herbs at the small garden near the front door and knew that he cared about taste and flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casertast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreek B, Guest Relations Manager at Shem Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Shem Creek Bar & Grill! We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your dining experience with us! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shem Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shem Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing