We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Village Post House Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mount Pleasant
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Shem Creek Inn(Mount Pleasant)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Charleston Marriott(North Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
35
19
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
19
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurttop floorwonderful staymountbathcharlestonkeurigclosethousekeeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 71 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We chose to stay here based on the great reviews here, but were sorely disappointed.
The first major problem we experienced was noise. The rooms are right over the restaurant, and from our room we could hear the very loud activity of the kitchen as well as the guests in the tavern. This noise continued until about 11pm, making it very difficult to rest. Secondly, we found the room to be damp and dirty. The bedding was stained, as were the footstool, walls and curtains. There is a difference between old antique charm and just worn out; our room was unfortunately the latter. Additionally, we found the food mediocre. After trying a lunch and a dinner we didn’t even bother with the breakfast or any other meals. The food we did eat was overcooked and dripping in butter. Finally, we experienced no great “southern charm” or even standard hotel friendliness. We did not feel welcomed at all by the staff, they were curt and not terribly helpful with basics (directions, recommendations etc.)
This inn was a great disappointment and I would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mwfiesole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

This a charming, comfortable place just minutes from downtown Charleston. Plus, it has great food and isn't too expensive.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank TravelerDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2007

My fiance and I stayed at the OVPH for 3 weeknights in early April and we loved it. It was the perfect blend of B&B and hotel. Our room was on the top floor and had a comfortable four poster bed and a jacuzzi tub for two. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, but we never felt forced to socialize and we enjoyed complete privacy.

The cozy bar was a great place to have a casual dinner, watch sports, or grab a couple drinks to take up to our room. Breakfast is included and you have a number of choices, but it was only average in quality. Down the street from the Inn, however, there is a fantastic cafe that serves great breakfast and lunch.

The neighborhood is really nice - quiet, close to the water, and great for running or walking. You are only 5 minutes from Charleston across the striking Cooper River Bridge. On your way to the bridge, you pass Shem Creek, where there are several creek-front restaurants and bars. Patriots Point is also very close if you plan to spend time there.

We will go back and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Stayed here a couple of days ago for a night. Not being familiar with the area, and trying to find the place at night, was a tad tough, only because we missed the turn off. But one quick call to the hotel and we had no problem. We arrived later than expected on a Saturday night and the adjoining restaurant was packed and we had a bit of a time trying to find a place to park. There is no dedicated parking for the hotel and we had to guess what door to enter for the hotel, but it all worked out. Having booked late we did end up with a smaller room, but it was nice, but a tad worn, and a too-soft mattress. A bit pricy ($135 ) for the room we received. Other than that, no problems whatsoever. The staff was outstanding, as was our dinner, and the continental breakfast quite adequate. First time I ever had a pecan-pie croissant! Yum!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishharbours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Stayed here just before Christmas, and wanted to be out of busy downtown Charleston. This was a perfect spot, right in the old section of Mt. Pleasant Village---just a few minutes away from Charleston by car, but it felt like I was in another place entirely. I am a big Ann Rivers Siddon fan, and this area made me feel like I'd stepped into her latest novel. My room was spacious, with a sitting area to watch TV (I have to have my James Bond fix, even on the road, at Christmastime), village views, and a wonderfully comfy bed. Breakfast was served in a lovely second floor dining room, with prints of Charleston gracing the walls. And downstairs was the restaurant, with its two dining rooms and tavern, for dinnertime delights. Charleston is a short drive away, as are many of the local plantations, and Shem Creek is just up the road. The staff was helpful and friendly, and helped make my first trip to the Low Country a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kittygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews