We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Stay In Mount Pleasant - Hands Down” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Village Post House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Pleasant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Village Post House Inn
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay In Mount Pleasant - Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Old Village Post House in mid-October for 2 nights.

We had intended to stay elsewhere, but had to change our plans due to a sick dog, and when we went to rebook our original choice was sold out.

All I can say is boy did we get lucky. We drove by our original choice during our stay, and although it looked nice enough, the location was much less attractive as far as what it offered - much less.

Everything at Old Village Post House is top notch - from the location, to the inn, to the staff, to the rooms, to the food.

Location - This is IT. If you want to experience a charming Mount Pleasant and be within walking distance to lots of things, look no further. In the quaint "old village" part of Mount Pleasant, where there is a Rexall, a great Bakery that is more than a bakery, and a few other cute shops, the inn (itself a beautiful old building that has been fully and tastefully renovated) is surrounded by beautiful old homes, and the water. We spent much of our first day just walking around the Village, looking at the homes, and walking to the water. Shem Creek is just a short bit away to have lunch/dinner/drinks on the water. Pitt Street Bridge is also a very short distance - a great spot for a beautiful view of downtown Charleston. You are also only minutes from downtown Charleston by car and easy access to the rest of Mount Pleasant and Sullivans Island and Isle of Palms.

The Inn/rooms - The inn has been renovated top to bottom, and is extremely tasteful and comfortable. One of our favorite spots was the outdoor courtyard, where we had breakfast every morning, and dinner one night. Our room, even though one of the least expensive, was very tastefully done with every comfort we could have wanted. We loved the guide that was provided with the history of the inn, and information on the area. We loved the wine glasses that were provided, the comfortable bed and the beautiful wallpaper in the bathroom and most of all that it was clean (pet peeve of mine). Being on the second floor, there was a bit of noise form the dining room, but nothing we couldn't sleep through. I wouldn't hesitate to book this room again as it's great value, but for anyone sensitive to noise at night, I would book the third floor.

Restaurant - We loved that there was a restaurant as part of the inn. And not just any restaurant but a highly regarded one. Great commute to dinner. There is a dining room, plus a tavern area, which is great if you'd like to be a more casual, as well as the courtyard. Breakfast is included in the room, and Sunday offers an outstanding brunch, included as well. We ate dinner here one night and everything was perfect. Really great food and service. We never felt rushed.

Staff - I always say that staff makes a place - that is if the room and location are also up to par. But a beautiful place with non-responsive or dismissive staff can really spoil what could have been a great experience.

The staff - every one of them - at the Old Village Post House are friendly, professional and superbly on top of their game. This is one well-managed inn/restraurant. Nothing was too big a deal for them - or if it was, it was never evident. They were there to take care of us, and twe felt very well cared for there.

Details count, and it's the little things that make a difference and that you remember. We ate dinner there on my birthday, and they surprised me by putting and candle in and paying for my dessert. Although not a big expense to them, it was the gesture that mattered, and that is so lacking in most places these days. I had not told the wait staff it was my birthday, I had mentioned it to the person who took our dinner reservation, who had passed it on. You feel special staying here.

The young woman who checked us in and made our dinner reservation, (who is from Salisbury, MA and whose name escapes me!) who I believe is the manager - is wonderful. Excellent at her job. Polished, warm, and professional. She is a real asset to Post House. I hope she never leaves!

My husband and I have stayed in Charleston, and many places around the world, and the Post House is at the top of our list for overall experience. The prices compared to Charleston are astoundingly less expensive, and the service much better and friendlier.

Now that we have found the Old Village Post House, we will not stay elsewhere when visiting the area.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, choose a room on the third floor rather than the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We wanted to visit Charleston but were delighted to stay a little bit away from the tourist hustle and bustle. This perfectly met our needs. Nice staff, great room, perfect location. The breakfast was not great, but with so many restaurants in Charleston, we were happy to eat out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank person555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Old Village of Mt. Pleasant is charming - beautiful homes, old-fashioned shopping and views of the water. Unfortunately the Old Village Post House is mainly noisy. Our room on the second floor was assaulted by the kitchen noises of dinner prep and serving from below and third-floor bedroom noise of dropped shoes, moved furniture and elephant-like footsteps from above. We did complain and our last (fourth night) was quiet; however, I'm not sure if that was just dumb luck or we were so exhausted by three nights of interrupted sleep that we were able to tune out the cacophony. In favor of the inn, the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom with whirlpool tub was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My friend and I were pleasantly surprised by the charm of The Old Village Post House. Our room delightfully incorporating Old Southern charm with modern conveniences like a tv.

The service throughout both The Old Village Post House and award winning restaurants was impeccable. Our dinner was a gourmet delight.

Access to the ocean was a pleasant one block walk away as was an old-fashioned soda fountain, lovely bakery/sandwich shop and other small businesses that felt as if you had stepped back in time.
Even though MT. Pleasant is a short 10 minute drive over a stunningly beautiful bridge to Charleston, the area surrounding The Old Post House feels as if it was a Southern movie set.

I highly recommend The Old Village Post House for any trip to Charleston - business or pleasure. Charleston can be a bit hectic. The Old Village Post House allows you to slip back into Southern Charm with easy access to the restaurants, museums and nightlife of Charleston. Romantic, quiet with all of the amenities one would want in this famous Southern community.

Room Tip: Call the front desk and describe your needs - but book ahead. The Old Post House is most often fille...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice ambiance, fair service, but a boring menu. Food was competently prepared, but boring. The menu has little selection and offers nothing exciting.

It is worth one visit, but not a return trip. Too many better options in the area.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

On a brief trip to Charleston, we stayed at the Old Village Post House overnight. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The accommodations were not lavish, but met our needs for a fine experience. We also ate in the restaurant and had a wonderful meal (during Restaurant Week).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsilver439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is not your typical B&B. It is primarily a restaurant (and a very popular one) in the Old Village section of Mt. Pleasant. The 2nd and 3rd floors contain 6 guest rooms. The rooms have lots of character and are all different. Reviewers had suggested booking a 3rd floor room instead of 2nd floor, because there is a banquet room on the 2nd floor and some dish/dining noise when they book that room. The 3rd floor was quiet and fine.

The neighborhood is historic residential, and absolutely beautiful. And the restaurant is great. Would definitely stay here again.

The only drawback for some people will be that there are a lot of steps (high ceilings). Didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a separate sitting room. Room 6 has a 2-person whirlpool tub. Request 3rd floor room to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huntersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Inn
#15 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
The Beach Club at Charleston Har...
#9 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#20 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Village Post House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Village Post House Inn

Property: Old Village Post House Inn
Address: 101 Pitt St, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-5318
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful inn offers travelers gracious accommodations set in the heart of a quaint, historic fishing village. Only minutes from downtown and the beaches, guests can relax and enjoy in the peaceful surroundings of a harbor side neighborhood. The inn features six tastefully appointed guest rooms, and a fine dining restaurant that includes a tavern and courtyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Village Post House Hotel Mount Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing