We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was a wreck”

The Wreck of the Richard & Charlene
Ranked #46 of 337 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“food was a wreck”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we took out of town visitors here last week. the food was cold, the red rice appeared to be a day old, very dry. the slaw was soggy. the shrimp were over cooked and the scallops seemed to be coated in salt. we did no tcomplain as we were with company but i apologized to them later and they agreed with the very poor quality. we may give the wreck another chance but it will be a long time in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    122
    80
    47
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving weekend”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not much food for the money. Out of some of menu items. No children's menue. Scallops "mushy" in the middle. Looked forward to this (my birthday dinner) and was very disappointed

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldKids73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Wreck...locals know here & go here... there is no sign!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Wreck is QUAINT... no frills... great fresh seafood! The boiled peanuts are free first bowl... you will get hooked if you try them! Have been going here for decades. There is no sign outside... entry can be from the back or creekside depending... lol. To find The Wreck, cross Shem Creek, bear right & double back to Haddrell Street creekside and turn left toward the ocean, park in the sand lot(s) at the end of the pavement... it is the grey looking building with the anchor outsice the back door! (between the marina and the seafood company)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank grantg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“All about the food..”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have no idea where this restaurant is. I followed someone that took about 10 turns just past the Shem Creek area and eventually we were at "The Wreck". The building is more "Wreck" than rustic, but the food is worth the trip. Fresh, tasty southern fried seafood, with very good sides, and very reasonable prices. On the night I was there, the restaurant was offering several good wines and bottle prices you cannot find on the shelf of a grocery star. The service was quick and friendly, and don't feel shy about engaging the owner in conversation....once he gets rolling it will be an interesting conversation. If I can find it, I will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Been going for years”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Shrimp and crab claws come right from the dock, the atmosphere is rustic to say the least, Julie our usual server is excellent. They have had their off nights now and then but overall they are very good. Prices are reasonable. And dining at sunset over shem creek is gorgeous.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wreck of the Richard & Charlene also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Wreck of the Richard & Charlene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing