We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic tour that honored our vets and added a fun spooky twist”

Yorktown Ghost Tours
Ranked #3 of 31 Tours in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Listed as a must do by the Today Show and Family Circle Magazine, this exclusive guided tour explores the unexplained mysteries of the USS Yorktown in historic Charleston, SC. Hear stories of sacrifice and devastation as this tour ventures into areas normally restricted to the public. Learn of the strange activity that has been documented and reported including the startling results of the investigation by Syfy Channel's "Ghost Hunters".
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great historic tour that honored our vets and added a fun spooky twist”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a great adventure for the whole family (teen and her friends included!). The tour guide was fantastic and told stories that I have never heard before and sparked everyone's interest. It was not so scary that young kids could not attend,but did have scattered moments where you can clearly scare yourself and laugh at each other. The entire tour made you stop and respect those who served and we all came home and looked up additional info the guide shared with us. WIth the small group sizes it really has a personal feel to it. I would definitely do it again. It's cold on board in December so dress accordingly in winter!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank USCDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were at Charleston for daughter's 16 birthday and gave her the choice of which ghost tour she wanted to do. Yorktown was picked to my surprise. The weather was bad (40, raining, and windy) but everyone enjoyed it. Our guide was an active duty member of the US Coast Guard volunteering his time for the tour. He was very knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. I have been on the Yorktown many times and learned a lot of things I never new on this tour. We had a ghost meter detector that never went off, but we did hear some tapping at one point on the tour that could not be explained. The tour lasted about 2 hours and we all enjoyed it very much.

Make sure you bring a camera and take lots of photos. Many things that have occurred or been seen have not been with the eye but caught on camera and found as you look over them later as you will learn on the tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome and Informative!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently toured the Yorktown and it was well worth the time and money. Our tour guide, Patrick, was extremely knowledgeable and informative and answered all and any of our questions. Had an awesome time and will definitely be back to tour again on our next visit to South Carolina!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey Halsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our tour guide, Bruce Orr, was FANTASTIC! Extremely knowledgeable about the history of the ship and all the heroes. The stories were intriguing and his personality made the tour both interesting and entertaining. I actually caught a "Shadow E.D.' in sport mode on my camera and was able to witness it walking from one side of the frame to the other, Very cool! We had a lot of fun, learned a lot, and would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in WWII/Vietnam history mixed with a little bit of paranormal thrill.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KSD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I went on this tour as a recommendation from a friend. We are locals and have been to the YorkTown ship before, but never at night. The entire experience and view of the Charleston Harbor is amazing. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and backed up the stories with fact and pictures along the way. We walked all over various areas and parts of the ship and heard great stories about the american heroes that used to call the YorkTown home. We would definitely recommend this tour to friends and family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Halosure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorktown Ghost Tours also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Yorktown Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing