We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai food, hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basil Thai

Basil Thai
Ranked #14 of 327 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai food, hands down.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The food is delicious. The basil rolls are yummy for an app. The tom-ka-gai soup with chicken is amazing. It is a coconut soup and has great flavors. I always get a side of white rice and put it in the bowl with the soup. The pad-se-eu with chicken is yummy!! Make sure to specify the amount of spice that you like. I do not like spicy food, period. They are very understanding of that and always make my food mild and perfect.

Hands down, best Thai food.
Also, the atmosphere is gorgeous! Prices are reasonable as well due to the high quality food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelaroundplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    60
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
147 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We are not big fans of spices food, but basil wasn't spicey. We are also new to Thai food. Excellent selections are we were overall satisfied with our meals and will return

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“All-Around Excellent Thai Food In the Mount Pleasant Area”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been to this location several times in the past year, and always have an enjoyable meal. I have tried a number of different appetizers, entrees, and drinks, and have always been thrilled with my choices.

For my most recent visit I went on a Friday evening, and there was a bit of a crowd. Be warned that on the weekends it gets VERY crowded, and you can make a reservation, and most likely should. When my group arrived there was a wait of a few minutes so we went upstairs to the bar. They have a menu of specialty drinks, and most of them are very creative mixed/infused drinks. I had a spicy mojito. Excellent, and yes, it was somewhat spicy. We also had the spring rolls. They too were delicious, and came with a great peanut sauce. It accented the food, but didn't overwhelm it.

The service is always attentive without being intrusive. At my most recent visit I had the Red Curry. I have previously had the Pad Thai and the Pad Prik. The food isn't particularly spicy, but you can ask for "Thai Hot." Honestly, it's still not that hot. Then again, I do like spicy food. If you want to ratchet up the heat, ask for the extra spices. They'll bring you a small tray with three containers: One with Sriracha, one with chili powder, and one with small spicy peppers. It'll kick the heat up a bit more, but I've still never really achieved the full-blown heat I'm looking for.

Then again, you can just eat the food as served. The kitchen does a great job of balancing all the flavors in all their dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt. pleasant, sc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always yummy!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've dined at Basil several (SEVERAL) times and it is always yummy. Try the Pad Thai, wanton soup, hot and sour soup and the cashew nuts! The basil rolls are excellent!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mountpleasantmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I ate half of a duck here...”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

...and it was a religious experience. We cancelled reservations at FIG and SNOB (so many acronyms in the Charleston restaurant scene) to walk-in to Basil. We were not disappointed. Strongly suggest attempting to snag the chef's table; kitchen staff is professional, and skill is apparent. A big win.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chase R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Basil Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing