We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a drink”

The Shelter Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #30 of 340 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great place for a drink”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Shelter is a very nice place to go for a drink, it has a nice patio. It was voted to one of the best places to meet people by locals. We didn't eat here yet but during our last visit many people were ordering food. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank vincenthalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    55
    30
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great chicken bog”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Out for Christmas shopping and happened on this restaurant. Everyone ordered different menu items and everything was really good! The Chicken Bog is terrific! I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent food, service so-so”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent food, even though our server forgot the appetizer. This is a lively bar crowd type of place but it has excellent chef prepared meals. street side al fresco dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Last stop during our Mt Pleasant trip”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We were in Mt Pleasant for 5 days & passed by here many times during our trip. It looked like a fun place from the outside with all of the lights & outdoor seating (major bonus)...

On our last night we decided to stop here for a quick bite to eat for dinner. The menu was okay, not many things that screamed 'wow', so we landed on burgers & a couple of beers. Burgers were big & pretty tasty, they were served with French fries that were very good. There was a guy playing acoustic on the deck which we liked, he ended while we were waiting for the food to arrive. The service was pretty good also. If we go there again it would probably just be to chill at the bar.

Helpful?
Thank jade1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun drinking establishment”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Fun place for happy hour, great front deck, pretty good service, have not dined there. Would not have high expectations of the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shelter Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Shelter Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing