We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a Wow!”
Review of Burtons Grill

Burtons Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Upscale Dining in a Casual Environment. Gluten Free, Vegetarian, and Children's menus available. Happy Hour daily from 4 pm to 7 pm.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was a Wow!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Checked out some other reviews and chose Burton's. Very close to our hotel after a long, rainy drive from DC. Sat at the bar. I had a great grilled shrimp appetizer; perfect amount of food and delicious! Hubby had a Reuben which he raved about. But, the best was watching a waitress pick up a vodka/tonic from the bartender. She looked at the drink, struck a straw it in, and said the tonic was flat. She had the bartender make a new drink with a new bottle of tonic. He very willingly did so. I was so, impressed she noticed that before serving the customer. Nothing worse than flat tonic, says this gin and tonic lady!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    123
    46
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome gluten free meals”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The website has the gluten free menu and it is even better than it sounds. Zucchini and the risotto appys are terrific and all the food was good. Great friendly staff too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Another great evening at Burton's!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

During our current visit to Mt.Pleasant we looked forwatd to dinner at Burton's and we were not disappointed. We had the evening's special salmon with a Mango Salsa, and the wonderful braised shortribs, with starter of the harvest salad. Everything was fresh, perfectly prepared amd beautifully presented. I will return to this restaurant every time I come to Charleston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cjval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but possibly overpriced?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Restaurant is very well laid out although probably too many booths. I have never understood the appeal of booths and they cheapen the overall impression they may be trying to give.
Service was attentive and pleasant. Food was good but portions were a tad on the skimpy side considering the prices of the entrees. My ribeye steak was cooked well but rather thinly cut and way too salty.
Overall probably too pricey for what you get.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pckohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently my wife and I had the opportunity to visit Burton's Grill. As we walked in we were really excited not really knowing what to expect. But let me say by the time our evening was finished we were blown away.

Our server Troy, was fantastic. His knowledge of food and wine for us was nothing short of exceptional. We could tell that he genuinely cared about his guests and the service he gave. He didn't just tell us the menu he described the food and the care that the kitchen staff took to prepare each dish as to really lock in the freshness and natural flavors. He was great in his knowledge of the wines that he offered to us, explaining how they would pair with our meal, and really enhance the food as well. As we watched we quickly realized that he wasn't just this way with us, he treated every guest special, even the guest that were with other servers. His eye contact and warm smile invited every guest to enjoy their visit and everyone was welcomed and thanked.

As first time visitors we were very pleased with our experience and will look forwad to returning and having Troy serve us again. We will definately be recommending Burton's to everyone as a first choice. Thanks Troy, and thanks Burton's for a great experience.

J.A. Wolfe

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burtons Grill also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Burtons Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing