We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stellar”
Review of Carter's Kitchen - CLOSED

Carter's Kitchen
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shelmore
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stellar”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I had the special which was the sheep head fish. It was wonderful...... light and mild fish sherved with multicolored potatoes, tomatoes, spinich with an aoli drizzle. Fabulous entree!! My husband had the pasta, veal meatball special and that was "to die for." Not only was the food spectacular the vibe of the establishment was awesome. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charleston_SCSukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob C, Owner at Carter's Kitchen, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Wow, not only were we excited to read your review of Carter's Kitchen...your comment on the "vibe" of the restaurant was over the top. The entire staff thanks you for taking the time respond. Your "Thursday Blue Plate Special" dish...Meatball Madness continues to garner great fanfare and the local Sheepshead is also one of my favorites as wel. We hope to see you again soon. Robert Carter, Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not as good as the previous restaurant management”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We tried out this restaurant for Sunday Brunch this weekend. We had gone many times to the previous version of the restaurant, called Jacob's Kitchen. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the prices, which we felt were quite fair in relationship to the dining experience.

Unfortunately, the new ownership is currently not up to the same standard. The food options are more limited, the pricing is higher by 30% or more and the food is not as good in our opinion.

This is a nice place for a Sunday Brunch or lunch. The decor, the layout and the wait staff are all very good. But, they can't make up for the menu and pricing that is inferior to what was there before.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob C, Owner at Carter's Kitchen, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Mr. Joel G.
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the menu choices or the pricing of the new CARTERS KITCHEN. I have priced the menu as fairly as possible while striving to use the best quality ingredients both locally and regionally. As we are a new restauraunt our goal is to solicit constructive and productive input from our customers. your suggestions would have been welcomed and appreciated if you had so chosen to share them while at Brunch...I Thank you for enjoying the atmosphere and the incredibly talented service staff at CARTER'S KITCHEN.
Robert Carter
Chef/owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretentious and overpriced...”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our meal started with their bibb salad, which consisted of a few wilted and brown-tinged leaves. They didn't look like bibb at all. Some of the leaves were gritty, and that was our chief complaint. When we mentioned it to the waitress, she sent the (we believe) manager out to our table. He proceeded to tell us the lettuce was "picked at 3:00 this afternoon", attesting to its freshness. He didn't address the grittiness, but assured us (as if we were SO out of touch with "fine cuisine") that "Chef" wouldn't have sent a bad salad out. The salad was an issue, and unfortunately set the tone for the rest of the meal. Three very small scallops and two tiny dollops of bacon-something comprised the $12 small-plate. Flavors were good...but I think the restaurant is riding high on reputation (and THAT'S questionable) rather than quality and fairly-priced food. Wait staff was way too pretentious for its Mt. Pleasant location. Go to Stacks on Coleman Blvd. for a fabulous menu selection at really good prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CYoung54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob C, Owner at Carter's Kitchen, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
We are so sorry that your visit at Carter's Kitchen was disappointing. After relocating you and your companion at your request to a larger table so that you could sit side by side, we had hoped that we were off to a good start. Evidently the Hydroponic (living greens) salad that we served you did not meet your expectations. The Scallop dish listed under the "small plates" is designed and priced as an appetizer and in the future please feel free to order an Entree size portion if you are looking for a more substantial portion. We value all of our friends and neighbors that live in Mt. Pleasant and the overwhelming response has been incredible...We hope that you will give us a second chance.
Chef/Owner Robert Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service.”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Loved everything about it. Their Sunday brunch menu is extensive and fabulous.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank momruns262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Unbelievably awesome!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Sunday brunch sitting on the open patio was awesome, the quaint little street area made for a nice view. I braved a new thing and tried shrimp and grits, for 'breakfast,' and loved it beyond belief, awesome recipe, wife agreed! Both agreed her omelette was really good too, very fluffy, talented "chefery" going on in that kitchen. And the biscuits with honey butter? Gnaw your arm off, good! With stellar service, we're going to consider staying here next time we visit (in case you didn't know, it's a B&B too).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jboynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carter's Kitchen also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing