We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to kick back”

Gilligan's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 337 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saratoga
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to kick back”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Shrimp and beer on the porch was a great way to spend a quiet Tuesday afternoon. Friendly wait staff and superb service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    70
    44
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner very much, the food was excellant. We had a lovely table by the window overlooking the river. The manager was great, he came by our table twice...once with extra hushpuppies YUM!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kisa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We've been here several times since it's right off the IOP connector and that's usually where we're at. The food has always been good and the service has always been friendly. I will say that's their mushroom risotto is obviously made with canned mushrooms, but, it's a seafood place, and it wasn't bad. I'm sure we'll be back many more times!

Helpful?
1 Thank SLeighanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard NC
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family loves Gilligan's. We have spent Easter weekend in Charleston area for 8 years and eaten at many seafood restaurants. Since we discovered Gilligan's last year, we will make this an annual stop. Our 4 teenage boys (plus two fathers) love the "all you can eat" shrimp and we appreciate the excellent service. (They will probably take this item off the menu). I personally love the Shrimp & Sausage Gumbo - leave off the red rice - get a side of grits (the best grits I have ever eaten). My husband had crab legs this year and probably will repeat next year. We are a family of 14 with varied tastes. The fried green tomatoes and corn on the cob seemed to be a hit. Last year we were there around 7 pm and had a very, very, long wait. We ate around 5:30 this time - no wait. Others in our group had chicken, popcorn shrimp, flounder. No complaints. Friendy staff, excellent food and service. I have also eaten at Gilligan's in Summerville - equally good service and food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gilligan's Sunk”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Been here many times and usually good except last Monday night. The fried shrimp, boiled shrimp and grilled shrimp were over cooked to the point that I would not use them for bait...maybe. The scallops were like rubber slices. The crab legs were so over steamed they would not come out of the legs. Worst seafood we have had in a long time and we had out of town guests. The grits served as a side were like a yellow blob..inedible. We probably will never go back ...certainly not with out of town visitors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilligan's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gilligan's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing